Auto Accident Lawyer Phelps County, MO
Auto Accident Lawyer Phelps County, MO. If you or a loved one are seriously injured in an auto accident, Burger Law is the law firm to turn to in the Phelps County, MO area. Talk with a knowledgeable Phelps County, MO auto accident lawyer right now at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.
If you were injured in a car crash, see how much your claim might be worth in Phelps County, MO, with our free personal injury calculator.
The Burger Law attorneys fight for your rights and demands a complete recovery in your Phelps County, MO car crash claim. Our legal team has successfully recovered more than $200 million in settlement and trial results for our clients in Phelps County, MO and throughout Missouri, including a multi-year legal battle resulting in a trial verdict of $113 million. Our lawyers will not stop until obtaining a complete recovery for you.
Burger Law’s Successful Missouri Auto Accident Claims
At Burger Law, we believe that results matter. Our Phelps County, MO clients want to know that we are providing our complete attention to a case and win the best possible settlement on their behalf. The following are some recent examples of car crash settlements we have won for clients:
- $300k Utility Terrain Vehicle Settlement
- On-Ramp Accident Leads to $327,000 Settlement
- $90,000 Settlement after Car Accident
- Head on Collision
- Rear End Accident Leads to $35,000 recovery
Injured in an Auto Accident? Contact a Phelps County, MO Auto Accident Lawyer
After an auto accident in Phelps County, MO, you should be able to concentrate on getting treatment for your injuries. You should not have to worry about battling your insurance company for the medical care you need, or worrying about whether you are going to get the financial recovery you need for the car accident, or even legal jargon and court dates. The Burger Law Phelps County, MO auto accident lawyers can focus all their efforts on the above facets.
Our lawyers are ready to fight for your rights, making sure that you receive complete compensation for the recovery you need and return to a normal life. Call one of our Phelps County, MO auto accident lawyers right away at (314) 500-HURT or fill out our online contact form. They are ready to confidentially talk about the specifics of your case for free with no obligation.
What Are the Most Common Causes of Auto Accidents in Phelps County, MO?
Although there are some potentially dangerous events and conditions outside of our control that can contribute to crashes, the majority of auto accidents are caused by driver error. Auto accidents happen in what often feels like a blink of an eye. Research by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) estimates that human operators are responsible for 94 percent of crashes that take place.
Some of the common causes of Phelps County, MO car crashes are:
- Distracted Driving
- Texting and Driving
- Drunk Driving
- Hit and Run
- Construction Zones
- Failing to Yield
- Rain or Bad Weather
- Reckless Driving, including:
- Cutting another car off
- Weaving in and out of traffic
- Running red lights
- Blocking a car or changing speed to prevent another car from changing lanes, passing, etc.
- Refusing to use turn signals
- Forcing a car off the road
- Using high beams to interfere with another driver’s ability to see
What Is the Average Car Accident Settlement Amount in the Phelps County, MO Area?
Auto accidents are expensive. According to the Insurance Information Institute, property damage, injuries and deaths in motor vehicle accidents cost $474 billion in 2020. The NHTSA, estimates that auto accidents cost society $7,300 per second in loss of productivity.
It can be difficult to pinpoint an exact amount as many settlements are confidential, in terms of the average car accident settlement in Phelps County, MO, or anywhere for that matter. However, generally speaking, most of car accident settlements come in between $15,000 and $20,000. Injuries calling for more comprehensive medical care often reach $50,000 to $100,000, while injuries resulting in permanent disability or, in the worst cases, wrongful death, can result in damages of hundreds of thousands of dollars, if not millions.
In addition, we have extensive experience winning the following cases for our Phelps County, MO clients:
How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in Phelps County, MO?
The state of Missouri's statute of limitations dictates how long you have after the date of your injuries from a Phelps County, MO auto accident to file your claim.
- In general, according to Missouri Revised Statute §516.120, you have 5 years from the date of your injury to file your auto accident injury claim in Phelps County, MO or elsewhere in Missouri.
- If you were under the age of 21 at the time of the injury, or were mentally incapacitated at the time, Missouri Revised Statute §516.170 states that you have 5 years after the date you turn 21 or that your "legal disability" ends.
- If you are harmed by someone who was a resident of Missouri when the injury happened, but left the state at a later date before you filed a lawsuit, Missouri Revised Statute §516.200 states that the time the defendant is out of the state does not apply toward the 5 years.
If you have been injured in an auto accident in Phelps County, MO, the clock is already ticking for when you can make your claim. Do not wait, give the auto accident law firm of Burger Law a call now at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online to get justice and maximum compensation for your injuries. We begin working on your Phelps County, MO claim immediately and do not stop until we win.
What Are the Factors That Determine an Auto Accident Settlement in Phelps County, MO?
As the purpose of a car accident settlement is to adequately compensate you for your injuries, the severity of those injuries is the driving factor in how much your settlement may be. Other aspects include the insurance policy in question, how your injuries have impacted your life, if you are to blame in any degree for your accident and the capabilities of your Phelps County, MO auto crash attorney:
- The seriousness of your injuries — As more major injuries lead to higher medical expenses and more time lost from work in Phelps County, MO, they lead to higher settlements, particularly when adding in the pain and suffering multiplier.
- How your injuries have impacted your life — The greater the effect on your mental, emotional and physical well-being, the more the noneconomic damages will be.
- The insurance policy — Missouri has a minimum insurance requirement of $25,000 for bodily injury, and while a skilled Phelps County, MO car crash lawyer might be able to get you more, there are instances where the compensation is dependant upon the negligent driver's and/or your insurance policy limits.
- If you are partially responsible — With comparative negligence policies like Missouri law observes, you can still receive a financial recovery if you were partially to blame; however, the amount will be less. For example, if you are awarded $100,000 in damages but it is found that you are responsible for 30 percent of the blame for your accident, you would get $70,000. You can still receive compensation in Missouri, even if you were 99 percent at fault.
- Your car accident lawyer — You need an aggressive and skilled Phelps County, MO attorney to fight the insurance company's tricks. Your auto accident lawyer will also need to investigate your accident, prove liability on the part of the other motorist and have a network of economic and medical experts in the Phelps County, MO area and throughout MO to accurately value your claim. If the insurance company will not extend a fair settlement, you will need an experienced trial lawyer with courtroom savvy that will argue your case in front of a jury.
What Tricks Do Insurance Companies Use To Avoid Paying Claims?
When you have a personal injury claim, be aware of the tricks insurance c …
Is It Worth It to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident?
Is It Worth It to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident? If you've been injured …
When Should I Hire an Attorney After a Car Accident?
When Should I Hire an Attorney After a Car Accident? If you were injured …
What Do I Do After an Auto Accident in Phelps County, MO?
Car crashes are not a pleasant experience, and they are often frightening and startling. But, it is crucial to keep a level head following a crash. According to the Burger Law Phelps County, MO auto accident lawyers, you should follow these steps to ensure everyone’s well-being and to receive the finest results from your claim in Phelps County, MO:
- Check to see whether you or anyone else is injured. The most vital thing in a Phelps County, MO car crash is everybody's safety and well-being. Assess the scene to see if anyone is injured and how severe their injuries are. If there are severe injuries to you or anyone else, call 911 right away. If you can and it is safe to do so, render first aid to anyone who needs it.
- Get to safety. Do not move anyone who is severely injured until emergency medical personnel get there, and alert other vehicles of the crash. If you are unable to move your vehicle, turn on the emergency lights and exit to get to the side of the road whenever it is safe. Otherwise, get your vehicle to the side of the road and away from oncoming traffic so no one ends up in a multi-car accident.
- Phone the police. If you have not already called 911, call the Phelps County, MO or county police. Missouri Revised Statute §303.040 calls for Missouri motorists to report any motor vehicle accident that results in personal injury, death, or over $500 in property damage. If you are uncertain as to the extent of the damage or how bad your injuries are, err on the side of caution and call the police. Not only is it the law, but police in Phelps County, MO are trained to offer an official account of what happened in accidents, and their report will go a long way in proving your claim and holding the other party accountable.
- Document the accident scene and collect evidence. Take pictures of all vehicles involved, any injuries you sustained and other parts of the scene, such as the roadway around the crash. The lack of tire marks may help prove that the other driver was distracted and is responsible for the auto accident. If the other driver was drunk, take photos of law enforcement arresting them.
You should also trade insurance information with the other driver. If there were eyewitnesses, get their contact information so that your Phelps County, MO car accident lawyer will be able to take official depositions from them. As your memory will be freshest in the immediate aftermath, it is also a good idea to write down everything you remember about the accident as you may forget seemingly insignificant details that later turn out to be crucial.
- Get medical treatment. Even if you do not believe your injuries are severe, it is a good idea to go to an urgent care facility in the Phelps County, MO area after a car accident. Occassionally, with some injuries, adrenaline can frequently mask pain and you may not experience symptoms immediately after an accident.
- Reach out to Burger Law. When you are seriously hurt in an auto accident, it is beneficial to find an informed lawyer who can assist in navigating the difficulties of your case. An experienced, professional attorney who pushes back against bullies like resistant insurance companies is frequently the only way you can truly receive maximum compensation for your damages. Our attorneys have over 70 years of combined experience standing up for the injured in Phelps County, MO. We know car accident claims and will be able to figure out precisely how much you are owed. Speaking with us about your claim is free, so it is vital to never accept a settlement offer before asking an auto accident lawyer if it is actually fair. We are also knowledgeable trial attorneys, so if we cannot secure a fair financial recovery in negotiations, we will take the fight to a judge and jury.
What Should I Look For When Choosing an Auto Accident Lawyer in Phelps County, MO?
When it comes to selecting an auto accident lawyer in Phelps County, MO, it is important to do your research and locate the right lawyer for the finer points of your case. The following are some key factors to ponder:
- Experience: An experienced auto accident attorney will know the intricacies of the legal system and be able to help you fight against bullying insurance companies. Burger Law has nearly 30 years of experience in the Phelps County, MO area, and throughout Missouri, standing up to prosecutors and insurance companies on behalf of our clients.
- Specialization: Different lawyers are accomplished in different aspects of the law, and it is critical to find one who specializes in car crash cases. The Burger Law Phelps County, MO auto accident attorneys are not only well steeped in car crash cases, we dedicate our careers to handling cases like yours and doing whatever it takes to get you full compensation for your lost wages, medical bills, other out-of-pocket expenses and the pain and suffering you have incurred because of your injuries.
- Reputation: It is also important to look for an attorney who is known in the community and who has a good reputation. Ask around for recommendations and read online reviews, and you will see Burger Law’s stellar track record throughout the Phelps County, MO area.
- Communication: It is vital to find a lawyer in Phelps County, MO who is easy to talk to and is willing to answer your questions. Gary Burger has literally written the book on absolutely essential questions to ask before you select a lawyer. Our attorneys always make sure you know what is going on with your case. We also deal with all negotiation, documentation and litigation, also keeping you in the know throughout these processes. Give us a call today at (314) 500-HURT or reach out to us online.
Reach Out To a Burger Law Phelps County, MO Auto Accident Attorney
No matter if it is some other auto accident lawyer near Phelps County, MO or an offer from an insurance company, do not settle for less than you deserve. Burger Law has knowledgeable, aggressive and unwavering auto accident lawyers ready and willing to stand in your corner and fight for your rights throughout the life of your claim.
Give our Phelps County, MO auto accident lawyers a call now at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online. We do not collect any fees until we win your case. Get legal representation in Phelps County, MO when you need it, and pay when you get paid.