We demand justice and maximum compensation for those injured by another's negligence Car Accident Lawyer Cole County, MO Car Accident Lawyer in Cole County, MO. They broke the rules of the road, and now you are left to pick up the pieces. You should not have to pay because somebody else was negligent. Call a Burger Law Cole County, MO car accident lawyer now at (314) 500-HURT or fill out our online form for a free case evaluation and to start on your road to being made whole again. The damage that unthinking and reckless drivers can cause is often shattering, and they need to be held responsible for their actions. Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has dedicated their career to standing up to bullies and standing up for of the injured in Cole County, MO to deliver them the financial recovery they need to mend and return to the life they know. If you were hurt by a negligent driver, we know you are outraged — you deserve to be. You are also probably uncertain about the financial effects of medical costs and lost pay, in addition to the physical and emotional anguish that accompanies your injuries. The law gives an avenue to restitution; our Cole County, MO car accident lawyer team is here to lead you across it and fight on your behalf until there is nothing left to fight and you are wholly compensated for the harm someone else's careless actions caused. You do not have to wait any longer to start the process of being made whole again. We charge no fees until you recover the compensation you are owed. In over three decades of defending the rights of the vulnerable, our car accident lawyer team has won upwards of $175 million in verdicts and settlements for our Missouri clients. If you were harmed because another driver broke the rules of the road, learn how much your case may be worth by filling out our complimentary personal injury calculator. Chesterfield, MOChesterfield, MO100 Chesterfield Business PkwySuites 200-222Chesterfield, MO 63005By appointment onlyPhone: (314) 648-8348View Location Car Accident Statistics in Missouri In Missouri, car accident fatalities rose by 12% between 2019 and 2020, even though there were not as many people on the road due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A 2018 study stated that Missouri ranked 12th in the nation in deadly road wrecks, with 58 percent of those fatalities transpiring on country roads. The Missouri State Highway Patrol reported 36,033 car accidents that resulted in personal injury and 923 deadly car accidents. If you were one of the many in Cole County or anywhere in Missouri who was injured on the road because of another driver's irresponsible actions, contact a car accident lawyer now at (314) 500-HURT. How a Car Accident Lawyer in Cole County, MO Can Help With some common fender-benders, you may be able to be fully reimbursed without the help of an attorney. But when you are harmed in a wreck, you generally require a car accident lawyer to fight by your side and ensure that you get the best possible end result in your claim. When you hire a Burger Law Cole County, MO car accident lawyer, we will: Investigate your crash and obtain evidence, for instance: Photographs Surveillance footage Police reports Official eyewitness depositions Your medical records Make sure you receive the full medical care you need Offer you reliable and individualized legal advice Use our network of Cole County, MO experts to help develop a legal strategy Manage all communication, documentation, litigation and negotiations Insist that you are given a fair settlement offer Take your case in front of a judge and jury when we do not secure a fair settlement You can trust a Burger Law car accident lawyer in Cole County, MO to forcefully and fervently demand justice in your case. We have committed our careers to helping the vulnerable in Cole County, MO in their recovery and in being made whole again. Our case evaluation and preliminary investigation are free, so there is no risk in speaking with us. Contact a car accident lawyer right away at (314) 500-HURT to go over your case. Take a look at some of the links below to see the great results Burger Law's Cole County, MO car accident lawyer team has delivered for our clients: $2 million Multi-Vehicle Collision Settlement $765,000 Wrongful Death Car Accident Settlement Against Fire Department $327,000 Settlement for Rear-End Collision $250,000 Settlement for Crash After A Driver Ran a Red Light $205,000 Settlement After Failure to Stop at a Stop Sign $125,000 Settlement After Rear-End Collision at a Stop Light $100,000 Settlement for Distracted Driving $100,000 Settlement for Head-On Collision $90,000 Settlement for an Injured Passenger What to do after a Car AccidentWhat to do after a Car AccidentClick to view videoInsurance Issues in Auto ClaimsInsurance Issues in Auto ClaimsClick to view videoHow Do You Know if You Have a Car Accident Case?How Do You Know if You Have a Car Accident Case?Click to view videoCloseCloseClose Cole County, MO Car Accident Lawyer: Frequently Asked Questions The majority of our Cole County, MO clients have never needed to hire a car accident lawyer prior to their crash, and naturally have many questions about their rights and the legal procedure. The following are a few of the most common questions we are asked about car accident claims: Who Is Liable in My Car Accident? That is contingent the specifics of your case. Some of the most common reasons our car accident lawyer team sees for claims in Cole County, MO are: Drunk Driving or Drug Impaired Driving Distracted Driving, such as Texting and Driving Accidents Hit and Run Accidents Intersection Accidents Speeding Accidents Multi-Car Accidents Carpoool and Rideshare Accidents Every car accident lawyer at Burger Law has seen every kind of accident imaginable, and we know how to prove liability and win every type of motor vehicle case. How Do I Prove a Motor Vehicle Crash Claim? In order to win your claim, your car accident lawyer will have to show the five elements of negligence found in tort law: Duty of Care: Missouri Revised Statute §304.120 stipulates that drivers are "to exercise highest degree of care." So anybody who in control of a vehicle necessarily owes you a duty of care. Breach of Duty: The driver is in violation of a statute or otherwise did not drive safely. Cause in Fact: Also known as "causation," you must demonstrate that the driver's breach of duty directly caused your injuries. Proximate Cause: This is what ultimately decides liability and refers to the root origin of your injuries. A drunk driver is obviously liable, but if a vehicle's brakes do not work, the proximate cause is malfunctioning components and the driver may not necessarily be to blame. Damages: That your injuries led to some type of loss, for instance property damage, medical expenses and/or lost wages. Can I Still Recover Compensation If I Was Partially at Fault? Yes. Missouri is a pure comparative fault state. Meaning, that if you are found to be partially blameworthy for your injuries, your compensation will be lessened by the portion of culpability you are responsible for. For example, if a jury awards you $100,000 for a wreck, but finds that you were 30 percent at fault, the your final recovery would be $70,000. How Much is My Car Accident Claim Worth? That hinges on on the significance of your injuries, how they have impacted your life and the willpower of your car accident lawyer. With the aid of your attorney, you will be able to get compensation for: Economic damages, for instance: Lost wages Lost earning capacity Medical costs, such as: Urgent care Follow-up doctors appointments Surgeries Physical rehabilitation Medication bills In-home medical care Assistive devices such as wheelchairs or necessary improvements to your home Future estimated medical bills, such as further physical therapy or medication, or replacement costs for assistive devices Transportation costs to and from medical care Damage to your car Noneconomic damages, which the state of Missouri defines as: Pain and suffering Mental anguish Inconvenience Physical impairment Disfigurement Loss of capacity to enjoy life Loss of consortium In rare cases in Cole County, MO, for instance drunk driving crashes, your car accident lawyer may be able to help you recover punitive damages. How Are Noneconomic Damages Calculated? It is hard to put a number on intangible effects of a wreck like pain and suffering. Noneconomic damages are usually determined through one of two formulas: The Per Diem Method: "Per diem" stands for "per day" in Latin. In this method, you are awarded a daily amount for every day you were impacted by your injury. The daily amount is generally equal to your daily wage, the idea being that a day of suffering or emotional distress has at least the same value as a day's work. This method is not employed for injuries leading to disability as it is impossible to know how long your injury will impact you. The Multiplier Method: In this method, your economic damages are multiplied by a number, generally between 1.5 and 5, and the product will be your final financial recovery. Three is used most often, and four and five are often reserved for cases that lead to disability or permanent impairment. Your Burger Law car accident lawyer in Cole County, MO will make certain that an insurance company or jury knows the full extent that your injuries have impacted you and compensate you for all of it. What Tricks Do Insurance Companies Use To Avoid Paying Claims?Personal InjuryWhat Tricks Do Insurance Companies Use To Avoid Paying Claims?When you have a personal injury claim, be aware of the tricks insurance c …See Answer Is It Worth It to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident?Car AccidentsIs It Worth It to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident?Is It Worth It to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident? If you've been injured …See Answer What Do Car Accident Lawyers Do?Car AccidentsWhat Do Car Accident Lawyers Do?What Do Car Accident Lawyers Do? If you've been injured in a car accident …See Answer View More FAQs How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in Cole County, MO? Generally, according to Missouri Revised Statute §516.120, you have five years from the date of your accident to make your personal injury claim in Cole County or elsewhere in Missouri. If you were under 21 at the time of the injury, you have five years from the day you turn 21. That may seem like a long time, but it is crucial to call a car accident lawyer as soon as possible for the best outcome in your case. What Mistakes Can Hurt My Claim? People who have not talked to a car accident lawyer might mistakenly do or say things that make their claim harder to win. Some common mistakes your car accident lawyer in Cole County, MO sees are: Not Calling the Police: Following Missouri Revised Statute §300.110, you have to report an accident to the police "as soon as reasonably possible" if it causes injury. Police know how to determine negligence in crashes and their police report will be indispensable in your case. Not Documenting the Scene: Take photos of both vehicles and the nearby area and collect witness contact information. This will also be incredibly valuable in your case. Not Seeking Medical Attention: In order to be totally compensated for your injuries, you need to have records of them and have them treated. Always be entirely frank with your physician about any aches you have. Believing the Insurance Company: Insurance adjusters use a lot of tricks to reimburse you for as little as they can; that is how they make money. Do not believe anything they say or make any recorded statements before speaking with a lawyer. Accepting the Initial Settlement Offer: If you need the money as soon as possible, it may be enticing to take what they are offering you now. It is a far better idea when all is said and done to wait for the maximum compensation you truly deserve. Not Hiring a Burger Law Car Accident Lawyer: Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has committed their career to pursuing justice for the injured in Cole County, MO. When someone refuses to admit culpability or the insurance company is not being fair, we step in and insist that you are treated fairly and get the full compensation you deserve. DeAndre RedmondDeAndre RedmondClick to view videoRick's SettlementRick's SettlementClick to view videoTiffany TestimonialTiffany TestimonialClick to view videoCloseCloseClose How to Avoid Auto Accidents | Cole County, MO Car Accident Lawyer More than 75 percent of people who die in car wrecks are drivers. Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has seen firsthand the devastation that a thoughtless driver can cause. While you cannot always control how other people drive, there are several steps you can take to protect yourself in addition to others on the Cole County, MO roadways. Always use a seatbelt. In 2017, seatbelts saved an estimated 14,955 lives. Over 83 percent of drivers and passengers who are completely expelled from the vehicle die, and the majority of the rest experienced serious, life-changing injuries. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration states that wearing a seatbelt reduces the risk of death by almost half and moderate to critical injury by 50 percent. Be aware of the rules of the road. The Missouri Department of Revenue offers a Driver Guide for Cole County, MO drivers. Fundamental suggestions like driving slower and increasing following distance in poor weather not only go a long way in keeping you and other drivers and passengers safe, but they also shield you from liability or being partially blamed for a wreck if you do find yourself in one. If you are a motorcyclist, wear a helmet. While Cole County, MO does not have laws requiring motorcycle drivers to wear helmets, they are literal life-savers. In 2017, helmets saved 1,872 lives. Do not use your cell phone. While you can always text somebody later, you can never take back the consequences of a car accident. Pull over safely if you need to make an urgent call. If you use your phone for directions, put the volume on high and do not listen to music or podcasts so you can clearly hear the directions and do not have to look. Have the right attitude. We all share the road, and we all need to be courteous to other drivers, passengers and pedestrians. Understand that you are in control of thousands of pounds of metal moving at high speeds. Safety needs to be your prime concern. According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, almost one-fourth of traffic deaths are people under the age of 25. A less cautious attitude is likely a contributing factor. Keep both hands on the wheel. Just having one hand on the wheel can significantly diminish your control of the vehicle. Quickly changing the radio is likely OK, but you should mostly be driving with both hands. Call a taxi or ridesharing service if you have been drinking. Not only does alcohol considerably impair your ability to drive safely, but it also raises your confidence and makes you feel more powerful, so you could think driving while drunk will be fine. Your brain may trick you into thinking you can drive home safely, but it is never true. You can take every possible precaution when driving, but unfortunately the reckless behavior of irresponsible drivers can still cause you injury. When you get hurt because someone else broke the rules of the road, you deserve full compensation for all of your damages. Every Cole County, MO car accident lawyer at Burger Law takes on and wins the tough cases, and knows how to achieve great results. Call Burger Law Now Car Accident Lawyer Cole County, MO You only have one chance for a full financial recovery. Do not let it go. Our Cole County, MO car accident lawyer team stands up to bullies like resistant insurance companies and negligent drivers who do not want to be held accountable for their behavior. We know the financial hardships of being injured are sudden and harsh. That is why we have committed our lives to seeing the injured and vulnerable in Cole County, MO restituted and made whole again. You do not have to go through these difficult times alone. To protect you and your family's future, call a Burger Law car accident lawyer in Cole County, MO right away at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.