Getting You The Compensation You Deserve

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys Clinton County, MO

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys in Clinton County, MO. How do you hold a driver responsible and get maximum compensation for your damages when you have been injured in a hit and run crash? Call the Clinton County, MO hit and run accident attorneys of Burger Law today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online so that we can begin fighting for you and getting you the best possible recovery for your Clinton County, MO hit and run accident.

When a negligent driver knowingly breaks the rules of the road and injured you or a family member, it is common to feel shocked and furious. It is particularly unnerving when the negligent party will not take responsibility for their actions and leaves the scene of the in a hit and run accident. You may be puzzled about who is going to compensate you for the damages to your property and you or your loved one’s injuries. The devoted, seasoned and knowledgeable Clinton County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law know how to hold careless and knowingly irresponsible driver’s accountable. We will help you comprehend the situation and will fight for you to maximize your recovery and get you on the journey to healing. Call us right away at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free case review.

In the United States in 2016, 2049 people died in hit and run accidents, which was a 62 percent increase from 2009. Of those killed, about 65 percent of them were pedestrians or bicyclists, and approximately one in five pedestrian deaths happen in hit and run accidents. A hit and run accident occurs every 43 seconds in the United States. Any injury resulting from a car accident can be traumatizing and bring about life-long repercussions or, in the worst cases, wrongful death. However, hit and run cases intensify that trauma as you may not get medical treatment at once, and you may not know who to trust or how to collect equitable compensation for your injuries and damages. Our group of experienced and skilled hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law have helped those harmed in hit and run accidents in the Clinton County, MO area get maximum recoveries and understand how to maximize your compensation. When you call us at (314) 500-HURT, we begin working on your case right away, and you do not owe us any payment until we win your claim.

If you have been injured in a hit and run accident, take a loot at our personal injury calculator to see how much you may be able to collect in compensation.


Hit and Run Accident Attorneys: Understanding the Laws in Clinton County, MO

If someone else drives carelessly and injures you in a hit and run accident, they are not only culpable for your injuries, they are a lawbreaker. In Missouri, leaving the scene of an accident is a crime. When a motorist causes or is involved in an accident, the law dictates that they must:

  • Remain at the scene
  • Move their car if it may cause other drivers to crash, otherwise, wait until instructed by police
  • Attend to anyone who is hurt
  • Call the Clinton County, MO police
  • Use flares, reflectors, or flashlights if the accident happened at night or in bad weather
  • Swap contact info and insurance information with other people involved
  • Remain at the scene until a police officer tells them differently

Additionally, an accident report must be filed if damages exceed $500 or the accident leads to injury or a fatality.

Missouri Statute 577.060 categorizes “leaving the scene of an accident" as a Class A Misdemeanor, which is the most serious misdemeanor offense and carries a maximum penalty of one year in county jail and a fine of $2,000. However, leaving the scene turns into a Class E Felony if any of the following three conditions are met:

  1. Physical injury was caused by another party;
  2. Over $1,000 in damages was caused to another party’s property; or
  3. The defendant has previously left the scene of a hit and run accident.

A hit and run turns into a Class D Felony if the accident becomes fatal and results in somebody’s death. While it is encouraging that we have laws deterring hit and runs, a criminal conviction for the reckless driver will not get you the compensation you are entitled to. They may be found responsible in the Clinton County, MO criminal court, but you need skilled and committed hit and run accident attorneys like the ones at Burger Law who will demand that you get the maximum recovery you need to heal. When you hire us, we start working on your case right away and do not let up. We do not charge any fees until we win your case and we will fight tirelessly to ensure the negligent party bears full responsibility for their thoughtless actions.


Dos and Do Nots After Being in a Hit and Run Accident

While being in any accident is terrifying and can leave you feeling helpless, it can be especially worrisome if the at fault person disregards the rules of the road and flees the crash site. The rules are in place for a reason, and it is disheartening and startling when someone breaks those rules and acts carelessly and irresponsibly. The committed and skilled Clinton County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law hold negligent drivers responsible and win you the money you are owed. It is important to know what to do and what not to do directly following your accident, so you can increase your odds of getting the best possible compensation:

  • DO NOT flee the accident site yourself. You may think the damages are too minor to want to deal with the hassle, or you may be nervous that you are in some measure at fault. Leaving the scene of an accident will make it much harder for you to get compensation for your damages, and, more importantly, it is against the law.
  • DO get medical treatment. The health and safety of everyone there should be your foremost worry. If you or somebody else is injured, do your best to keep them in a stable condition and wait for Clinton County, MO emergency services to get there and provide aid.
  • DO NOT hesitate to call the police. Missouri law says that you have to call the police in any accident that leads to over $500 worth of damages or leads to bodily harm or a fatality. Even if you are not certain what the extent of the damages or injuries are at that moment, having a police report will help immeasurably in making your case.
  • DO NOT pursue the driver. After being hit by another car in a hit and run accident, anger and outrage are natural reactions. You may be motivated to follow the driver and find out who hit you. That is Clinton County, MO law enforcement’s responsibility. Chasing after the other driver not only puts yourself, other drivers, passengers and pedestrians at increased risk, but it will hold you back from being able to get important information and may even make the police suspicious of you.
  • DO safely discern what you can about the irresponsible driver and vehicle. To do this, you can:
    • Take photographs. If you did not sustain a serious injury and can use your phone before the car disappears from view, take as many pictures as you can. Even if you cannot get complete license plate number, just part of the license plate and/or the make, model and color of the car will be a great help in determining who the driver was. It also helps to take photographs of any tire marks or other damage at the scene of the accident.
    • Speak to witnesses. Other people at the crash site might have been able to see more than you did, or will be able to confirm your story. Be sure to get their contact information so a claims adjuster, law enforcement officer or Clinton County, MO hit and run accident attorney will be able to get in touch with them later.
    • Write down everything you can. If you did not have time or the ability to take pictures, anything you noticed about the other car or driver will be easier to remember immediately following the collision, and those details will still be very useful to law enforcement and your hit and run accident attorneys.
  • DO contact your Clinton County, MO insurance company. In the event that the driver cannot be located, you will have to make an uninsured motorist claim with your own insurance company.
  • DO call Burger Law at (314) 500-HURT immediately. Our talented and accomplished hit and run accident attorneys will help you collect evidence, including getting access to close by surveillance video and getting in touch with witnesses for full depositions. We work alongside a network of Clinton County, MO car accident experts who will be able to reconstruct the crash and prove exactly how the at-fault party caused your injuries.

Listed here are some helpful links and frequently asked questions for hit and runs and other categories of car accidents:

Hit and Run Cases in Missouri

In the best case scenarios, police and/or your hit and run accident attorneys will be able to track down the liable driver that caused your injuries and hold them responsible for their reckless actions. In those cases, the indefatigable and skilled Clinton County, MO hit and run accident lawyers at Burger Law will ensure you recover full compensation from the driver and their insurance company.

Uninsured Motorist Claims in Hit and Run Accidents

In Missouri, drivers need to have uninsured motorist insurance. If you are unable to locate the aat-fault driver after a hit and run accident, you and your hit and run accident attorneys will need to utilize this part of your policy to make a claim against your own insurance company. In Clinton County, MO, there are four criteria that must be met so that you can make this claim:

  1. You sustained bodily injuries
  2. You received the injuries due to an uninsured motorist, or in the case a motorist you are unable to identify
  3. You are legally entitled to collect from the at-fault driver
  4. All other limits of applicable policies have been exhausted by payment or settlement

In these cases, your own Clinton County, MO insurance company takes the place of the negligent party’s insurance company in order to compensate you for your damages. However, like other insurance companies, they may still need convincing before they pay you. To have the best odds at receiving maximum compensation from an uninsured motorist claim, you need accomplished and talented Clinton County, MO hit and run accident attorneys like those at Burger Law to fight by your side. We have been resisting insurance companies and other bullies for over 20 years, and will not relent until your own insurance company reimburses you for the money you have likely been paying into their policies for a long time.

Whether the at fault driver is located or not, the hit and run accident attorneys at Burger law will make certain you get the maximum amount of compensation that you deserve. When you are harmed because another driver broke the rules of the road, you deserve a full recovery for all of damages you have sustained because of the accident, for example: your medical bills, lost wages, lost earning potential, pain and suffering, mental anguish and loss of enjoyment of life. No matter how serious your injuries, we demand that you are compensated for every penny you deserve. If you or a family member in Clinton County, MO has been harmed in a hit and run accident, call Burger Law today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.

Causes of Hit and Run Accidents

It is every driver’s legal and social responsibility to stay at an accident site. When someone flees the scene of a hit and run accident, it is because they care more about the consequences for themselves than any damage or injury their irresponsible actions caused. There are a wide array reasons the at-fault party might not want to take responsibility for their actions:

  • The driver does not have car insurance

    In Clinton County, MO, not having the appropriate insurance can cause you to have your license suspended for up to a year, paying a $400 reinstatement fee, a $500 fine and/or up to 15 days in jail. "No insurance" tickets also remain on a Clinton County, MO driver’s record.

  • The driver does not have a driver’s license, or has a suspended license

    This also carries crushing penalties and can be either a Class A misdemeanor or a Class E felony, depending on whether you have been discovered without a valid license before.

  • A drunk driver or a driver otherwise impaired by drugs

    A DWI is a criminal charge that can also lead to fines, jail time, and having your license revoked.

  • The driver may have a warrant out for their arrest

    It likely is not surprising that people who already fear an interaction with law enforcement would risk breaking the law again to flee the scene of an accident.

  • Distracted driving

    Driving while not giving full attention to the road is careless and dangerous. People can become distracted if they are texting, eating, looking at directions, tired or just have their head in the clouds.

  • Lack of potential witnesses or low lighting

    A driver may leave an accident site simply because they think they can do so without any repercussions. Hit and run accidents are 4.5 times more likely to happen between 12AM and 4AM, when there is low visibility and far fewer witnesses on the Clinton County, MO roads or sidewalks.

  • A panicked driver

    Sometimes the driver has a clean record but simply leaves the accident because they are afraid and do not know what to do. Occasionally, these drivers turn themselves in once they have calmed down.

While we cannot control how other people drive, we can take some precautions as both drivers and pedestrians. Try to avoid walking in poorly lit areas at night, and when you are behind the wheel, stay alert at all times and never assume that leaving the scene of an accident is the best choice.

No matter the reason a driver opts to flee the scene after causing a hit and run accident, they must have presupposed the benefits of running were greater than the cons. The Clinton County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law will make them pay and make certain they understand they were wrong. In our seventy years of experience as hit and run accident attorneys in Clinton County, MO we have successfully litigated hit and run cases in many different circumstances. We demand the best possible compensation for all of our hit and run accident clients and will not give up until you receive the money you are owed to put you on the journey to being made whole again. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT for a free consultation and so we can start working on your case right away.

The Clinton County, MO lawyers of Burger Law have the experience and knowledge to help you receive the full recovery you deserve after any accident or injury caused by someone else leaves you injured. Learn more about our fields of expertise below.


Hire Our Hit And Run Accident Attorneys Today

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys| Burger Law

If you or someone you care about sustained injuries in a Clinton County, MO hit and run accident, you are probably feeling confused, livid, and overwhelmed. Injuries and their related expenses can disrupt your life. Burger Law is here to help make you whole again. When you hire our team of Clinton County, MO hit and run accident attorneys, we start working on your case and fighting on your behalf straight away. We demand the at-fault parties and their insurance companies are held accountable and we insist on getting you great compensation to aid you in your recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free case review to take the first step in getting your life back on track.

Request a Free Consultation


“Gary and his team provided us with effective, efficient and highly professional service. Gary provides sound advice and is a trustworthy and ethical attorney. I highly recommend the team!”

David and Fran Schneider

Hurt? Hire Us Today or call (314) 500-HURT

Other Locations

Schema