Getting You The Compensation You Deserve

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys Pike County, MO

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys in Pike County, MO. How do you hold a driver responsible and recover great compensation for your damages when you have been hurt in a hit and run accident? Call the Pike County, MO hit and run accident attorneys of Burger Law now at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online so that we can begin fighting for you and winning you a great recovery for your Pike County, MO hit and run accident.

When a thoughtless driver willfully breaks the rules of the road and harms you or a family member, it is normal to feel appalled and indignant. It is particularly distressing when the liable party refuses to take responsibility for their behavior and runs away from the scene of the in a hit and run accident. You may be pondering who is going to reimburse you for the damages to your property and you or your family member's injuries. The dedicated, veteran and talented Pike County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law know how to hold thoughtless and consciously irresponsible driver’s accountable. We will help you grasp the situation and will fight by your side to maximize your recovery and put you on the path to recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free consultation.

In the United States in 2016, 2049 people were killed in hit and run accidents, which was a 62 percent increase from 2009. Of the fatalities, just about 65 percent of them were pedestrians or bicyclists, and approximately one in five pedestrian deaths occur in hit and run accidents. A hit and run accident happens every 43 seconds in the United States. Any injury arising from an auto accident can be traumatizing and produce life-long repercussions or, in the worst cases, wrongful death. However, hit and run cases compound your wounds as you may not find medical attention right away, and you may not be certain who to trust or how to secure equitable compensation for your injuries and damages. Our group of experienced and knowledgeable hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law have helped individuals and families harmed in hit and run accidents in the Pike County, MO area get full recoveries and understand how to maximize your compensation. When you call us at (314) 500-HURT, we start working on your case straight away, and you do not owe us any fees until we win your suit.

If you have been hurt in a hit and run accident, take a loot at our personal injury calculator to see how much your damages may be worth.


Hit and Run Accident Attorneys: Understanding the Laws in Pike County, MO

If a driver drives negligently and injures you in a hit and run accident, they are not only responsible for your injuries, they are guilty of breaking the law. In Missouri, fleeing the scene of an accident is a crime. When a motorist causes or is involved in an accident, the law requires them to:

  • Stay at the scene
  • Move their car if it dangerous to other drivers, otherwise, wait for instructions from police
  • Render aid to anyone who is hurt
  • Call the Pike County, MO police
  • Use flares, reflectors, or flashlights if the accident happened at night or in bad weather
  • Trade contact info and insurance information with anybody involved
  • Stay at the scene until a police officer tells them they can leave

Furthermore, an accident report has to be filed if damages exceed $500 or the accident causes injury or a fatality.

Missouri Statute 577.060 categorizes “leaving the scene of an accident" as a Class A Misdemeanor, which is the most serious type of misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of one year in county jail and a fine of $2,000. However, leaving the scene becomes a Class E Felony if any of the following three conditions are met:

  1. Physical injury was caused by another party;
  2. Over $1,000 in damages was caused to another party’s property; or
  3. The defendant has previously left the scene of a hit and run accident.

A hit and run turns into a Class D Felony if the accident becomes fatal and leads to somebody’s death. While it is encouraging that we have laws against hit and runs, a criminal conviction for the at-fault driver will not get you the recovery you deserve. They may be found culpable in the Pike County, MO criminal court, but you need talented and dedicated hit and run accident attorneys like those at Burger Law who will fight by your side until you get the best possible recovery you need to make you whole again. When you hire us, we get started on your case immediately and work tenaciously until we win. You do not owe us a dime until we win your case and we will fight tirelessly to make certain the at-fault party accepts complete responsibility for their dangerous actions.


Dos and Do Nots After Being in a Hit and Run Accident

While being in any crash is scary and can leave you feeling vulnerable, it can be particularly stressful if the liable party disregards the rules of the road and leaves the crash site. The rules were enacted for a reason, and it is disappointing and alarming when someone breaks those rules and acts selfishly and irresponsibly. The committed and talented Pike County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law hold careless drivers responsible and secure you the compensation you are owed. It is important to know what to do and what not to do directly following your accident, so you can increase your odds of getting the best possible compensation:

  • DO NOT leave the scene yourself. You could think the damages are too minor to want to deal with the hassle, or you may be afraid that you are in some measure at fault. Leaving the scene of an accident will make it much harder for you to be awarded compensation for your injuries, and, more importantly, it is against the law.
  • DO get medical attention. Your number-one concern should be your health and safety and the health and safety of everybody else in your car or involved in the accident. If you or somebody else is harmed, do your best to keep them in a stable condition and wait for Pike County, MO emergency services to get there and give aid.
  • DO NOT hesitate to call the police. Missouri law requires you to call the police in any crash that leads to over $500 worth of damages or causes bodily injury or a fatality. Even if you are not certain what the degree of the damages or injuries are right away, having a police report will help immeasurably in proving your case.
  • DO NOT pursue the driver. After being hit by another driver in a hit and run accident, anger and outrage are natural reactions. You may be motivated to follow the driver and find out who hit you. That is Pike County, MO law enforcement’s obligation. Going on a wild goose chase not only puts yourself, other drivers, passengers and pedestrians at increased risk, but it will hamper you from being able to get necessary information and may even cause the police to suspect you.
  • DO safely learn what you can about the reckless driver and vehicle. To do so, you can:
    • Take photos. If you did not sustain a serious injury and can use your phone before the car vanishes from sight, take as many photographs as possible. Even if you cannot get complete license plate number, a partial number and/or the make, model and color of the car will be a great help in determining who the driver was. It also helps to take pictures of any tire marks or other damage to the area of the crash.
    • Talk to witnesses. Other people in the area might have had a better view than you, or will be able to validate your story. Make sure to get their contact information so an insurance company, police officer or Pike County, MO hit and run accident attorney will be able to get in touch with them later.
    • Write down everything you can. If you did not have time or the ability to take pictures, anything you could observe about the other car or driver will be easier to remember immediately after the accident, and those details will still be of great help to law enforcement and your hit and run accident attorneys.
  • DO contact your Pike County, MO insurance company. If the driver is never located, you will need to make an uninsured motorist claim with your own insurance company.
  • DO call Burger Law at (314) 500-HURT straight away. Our talented and veteran hit and run accident attorneys will assist in gathering evidence, including obtaining nearby surveillance footage and contacting witnesses for full statements. We work with a network of Pike County, MO car accident experts who will be able to recreate the accident and show exactly how the at-fault party caused your injuries.

Here are some helpful links and frequently asked questions for hit and runs and other types of car accidents:

Hit and Run Cases in Missouri

In the best case scenarios, police and/or your hit and run accident attorneys will be able to discover the negligent driver that caused your damages and hold them accountable for their careless actions. In those cases, the determined and skilled Pike County, MO hit and run accident lawyers at Burger Law will ensure you are awarded full compensation from the driver and their insurance company.

Uninsured Motorist Claims in Hit and Run Accidents

In Missouri, motorists are required to have uninsured motorist insurance. If you are unable to locate the aat-fault driver after a hit and run accident, you and your hit and run accident attorneys will need to utilize this part of your policy to seek a recovery from your own insurance company. In Pike County, MO, there are four standards that are required to be met so that you can make this claim:

  1. You received bodily injuries
  2. The injuries happened due to an uninsured motorist, or in the case a motorist you are unable to identify
  3. You are legally entitled to collect from the at-fault driver
  4. All other limits of applicable policies have been exhausted by payment or settlement

In these cases, your own Pike County, MO insurance company takes the place of the liable party’s insurance company in order to compensate you for your damages. However, like any insurance companies, they may still need convincing before they pay you. To have the best opportunity to receive the best possible compensation from an uninsured motorist claim, you need experienced and skilled Pike County, MO hit and run accident attorneys like those at Burger Law to fight by your side. We have been standing up to insurance companies and other bullies for over 20 years, and will not give up the fight until your own insurance company pays you back the money you have probably been paying into their policies for years.

Whether the at fault driver is found or not, the hit and run accident attorneys at Burger law will make certain you get the full recovery that you are entitled to. When you get injured because somebody else broke the rules of the road, you deserve maximum compensation for all of damages you have received as a result of the accident, for instance: your medical expenses, lost wages, lost earning potential, pain and suffering, mental anguish and loss of enjoyment of life. No matter how severe your injuries, we demand that you are compensated for all the money you are entitled to. If you or a family member in Pike County, MO has been harmed in a hit and run accident, call Burger Law today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.

Causes of Hit and Run Accidents

It is any driver’s legal and social duty to remain at the scene of an accident. When someone leaves the scene of a hit and run accident, it is because they care more about the consequences for themselves than any damage or injury their negligent actions caused. There are many reasons the at-fault party might not want to take responsibility for their actions:

  • The driver does not have car insurance

    In Pike County, MO, not having the right insurance can cause you to have your license suspended for up to a year, paying a $400 reinstatement fee, a $500 fine and/or up to 15 days in jail. "No insurance" tickets are also never removed from a Pike County, MO driver’s record.

  • The driver does not have a driver’s license, or has a suspended license

    This also carries severe penalties and can be either a Class A misdemeanor or a Class E felony, based on whether you have been discovered without a valid license before.

  • A drunk driver or a driver otherwise impaired by drugs

    A DWI is a criminal charge that can also carry fines, jail time, and getting your license revoked.

  • The driver may have a warrant out for their arrest

    It probably is not surprising that people who already fear an interaction with law enforcement would risk breaking the law again to flee a crash site.

  • Distracted driving

    Driving while not giving full attention to the road is thoughtless and dangerous. People can become distracted if they are texting, eating, looking at directions, dozing off or are just thinking about something else.

  • Lack of potential witnesses or low lighting

    A driver may flee an accident site simply because they think they can do so without any consequences. Hit and run accidents are 4.5 times more likely to happen between 12AM and 4AM, when there is low visibility and far fewer witnesses on the Pike County, MO streets or sidewalks.

  • A panicked driver

    Sometimes the driver has a clean record but simply leaves the accident because they are afraid and do not know what to do. often, these drivers turn themselves in after they have calmed down.

While we cannot control what other drivers do on the road, we can take some precautions as both drivers and pedestrians. Try to avoid walking in areas with bad lighting at night, and when you are behind the wheel, stay alert at all times and never assume that leaving the scene of an accident is the best option.

Regardless of the reason a driver chooses to leave the scene after causing a hit and run accident, they must have assumed the pros of running outweighed the cons. The Pike County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law will hold them accountable and make certain they know they were wrong. In our seventy years of experience as hit and run accident attorneys in Pike County, MO we have successfully litigated hit and run cases in many different circumstances. We insist on full compensation for all of our hit and run accident clients and will not give up until you collect the money you are owed to put you on the journey to being made whole again. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT for a complimentary case evaluation and so we can get started on your case right away.

The Pike County, MO lawyers of Burger Law have the experience and knowledge to help you receive the full recovery you deserve after any accident or injury caused by someone else leaves you injured. Learn more about our fields of expertise below.


Hire Our Hit And Run Accident Attorneys Today

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys| Burger Law

If you or someone you care about sustained injuries in a Pike County, MO hit and run accident, you are probably feeling confused, livid, and overwhelmed. Injuries and their related costs can uproot your life. Burger Law is here to help you heal. When you hire our team of Pike County, MO hit and run accident attorneys, we start working on your case and fighting on your behalf straight away. We insist that the liable parties and their insurance companies are held accountable and we demand that you collect maximum compensation to aid you in your recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a complimentary consultation to take the first step in getting your life back on track.

Request a Free Consultation


“Gary and his team provided us with effective, efficient and highly professional service. Gary provides sound advice and is a trustworthy and ethical attorney. I highly recommend the team!”

David and Fran Schneider

Hurt? Hire Us Today or call (314) 500-HURT

Other Locations

Schema