Getting You The Compensation You Deserve

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys Ray County, MO

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys in Ray County, MO. How do you hold a driver responsible and get maximum compensation for your damages when you have been injured in a hit and run accident? Call the Ray County, MO hit and run accident attorneys of Burger Law straight away at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online so that we can begin fighting for you and getting you a great recovery for your Ray County, MO hit and run accident.

When a negligent driver intentionally breaks the rules of the road and injured you or a loved one, it is normal to feel dismayed and indignant. It is particularly unnerving when the liable party will not take responsibility for their behavior and leaves the scene of the in a hit and run accident. You may be pondering who is going to pay for the damages to your property and you or your family member's injuries. The devoted, seasoned and knowledgeable Ray County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law know how to hold thoughtless and purposefully irresponsible driver’s accountable. We will help you comprehend the situation and will fight for you to maximize your compensation and put you on the path to recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free consultation.

In the United States in 2016, 2049 people died in hit and run crashes, which is 62 percent more than 2009. Of the fatalities, almost 65 percent of them were pedestrians or bicyclists, and approximately one in five pedestrian deaths transpire in hit and run accidents. A hit and run accident takes place every 43 seconds in the United States. Any injury caused by a car crash can be traumatizing and bring about life-long consequence or, in the worst cases, wrongful death. However, hit and run cases aggravate your wounds as you may not receive medical care at once, and you may be unsure of who to turn to or how to seek equitable compensation for your injuries and damages. Our group of experienced and knowledgeable hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law have helped individuals and families injured in hit and run accidents in the Ray County, MO area get great recoveries and know how to maximize your compensation. When you reach out to us at (314) 500-HURT, we start working on your case immediately, and you do not owe us any fees until we win your case.

If you have been injured in a hit and run accident, check out our personal injury calculator to see how much you may be able to get in compensation.


Hit and Run Accident Attorneys: Understanding the Laws in Ray County, MO

If somebody behaves negligently and injures you in a hit and run accident, they are not only to blame for your injuries, they are a lawbreaker. In Missouri, driving away from the scene of an accident is a crime. When a motorist causes or is involved in an accident, the law dictates that they must:

  • Remain at the scene
  • Move their car if it hazardous to other drivers, otherwise, wait until directed by police
  • Attend to anyone who is hurt
  • Call the Ray County, MO police
  • Use flares, reflectors, or flashlights if the accident happened at night or in poor weather
  • Trade contact info and insurance information with other people involved
  • Stay at the crash site until a police officer tells them differently

Additionally, an accident report has to be filed if damages exceed $500 or the accident leads to injury or death.

Missouri Statute 577.060 categorizes “leaving the scene of an accident" as a Class A Misdemeanor, which is the most serious misdemeanor offense and carries a maximum penalty of one year in county jail and a fine of $2,000. However, leaving the scene becomes a Class E Felony if any of the three conditions below are met:

  1. Physical injury was caused by another party;
  2. Over $1,000 in damages was caused to another party’s property; or
  3. The defendant has previously left the scene of a hit and run accident.

A hit and run turns into a Class D Felony if the accident is fatal and causes somebody’s death. While it is reassuring that we have laws against hit and runs, a criminal conviction for the at-fault driver will not get you the money you are entitled to. They may be found responsible before the Ray County, MO criminal court, but you need skilled and devoted hit and run accident attorneys like we have at Burger Law who will demand that you get the full recovery you need to make you whole again. When you hire us, we get started on your case straight away and work tenaciously until we win. You do not owe us a dime until we win your case and we will represent you aggressively to ensure the negligent party bears full responsibility for their dangerous actions.


Dos and Do Nots After Being in a Hit and Run Accident

While being in any accident is terrifying and can leave you feeling vulnerable, it can be particularly stressful if the responsible individual does not respect the law and flees the crash site. The rules were enacted for a reason, and it is discouraging and alarming when someone does not respect those rules and drives selfishly and recklessly. The devoted and skilled Ray County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law hold reckless drivers responsible and secure you the money you are owed. It is important to know what to do and what not to do directly following your accident, so you can increase your odds of getting the best possible compensation:

  • DO NOT leave the scene yourself. You might think the damages are too insignificant to want to deal with the inconvenience, or you may be anxious that you are in some measure responsible. Leaving the location of a crash will make it much more complicated for you to get compensation for your damages, and, more importantly, it is against the law.
  • DO get medical care. Your primary worry should be your health and safety and the health and safety of everybody else in your car or involved in the accident. If you or somebody else is harmed, try to keep them in a stable condition and wait for Ray County, MO emergency services to get there and give aid.
  • DO NOT hesitate to call the police. Missouri law says that you have to call the police in any accident that causes over $500 worth of damages or leads to bodily injury or death. Even if you are not certain what the degree of the damages or injuries are at that moment, having a police report will help a lot in proving your case.
  • DO NOT pursue the driver. When you are hit by another driver in a hit and run accident, anger and outrage are typical reactions. You may want to follow the driver and find out who caused your accident. That is Ray County, MO law enforcement’s job. Chasing after the other motorist not only puts yourself, other drivers, passengers and pedestrians at increased risk, but it will hold you back from being able to get important information and may even cause the police to suspect you.
  • DO safely discern what you are able to about the reckless driver and vehicle. To do this, you can:
    • Take pictures. If you did not sustain a serious injury and can take out your phone before the car disappears from view, take as many pictures as you can. Even if you cannot get a full license plate number, just part of the number and/or the make, model and color of the car will be a great help in discovering who the driver was. It is also useful to take photographs of any tire marks or other damage at the scene of the accident.
    • Speak to witnesses. Other people at the accident site might have been able to see more than you did, or will be able to validate your story. Be sure to get their contact information so an insurance company, police officer or Ray County, MO hit and run accident attorney will be able to reach out to them later.
    • Write down everything you can. If you did not have time or the ability to take photographs, anything you could observe about the other car or driver will be fresher in your memory immediately after the crash, and those details will still be incredibly useful to law enforcement and your hit and run accident attorneys.
  • DO contact your Ray County, MO insurance company. If the driver is never located, you will have to make an uninsured motorist claim with your own insurance company.
  • DO call Burger Law at (314) 500-HURT straight away. Our talented and expert hit and run accident attorneys will help you gather evidence, including acquiring adjacent surveillance video and reaching out to witnesses for full depositions. We work with a network of Ray County, MO car accident experts who will be able to recreate the scene and demonstrate exactly how the at-fault party caused your injuries.

Here are some helpful links and frequently asked questions for hit and runs and other categories of car accidents:

Hit and Run Cases in Missouri

The ideal scenario is that police and/or your hit and run accident attorneys will be able to discover the at-fault driver that caused your damages and hold them responsible for their careless actions. In those cases, the tenacious and skilled Ray County, MO hit and run accident lawyers at Burger Law will ensure you are awarded full compensation from the driver and their insurance company.

Uninsured Motorist Claims in Hit and Run Accidents

In Missouri, motorists must have uninsured motorist insurance. If you are unable to track down the aat-fault driver after a hit and run accident, you and your hit and run accident attorneys will need to utilize this part of your policy to make a claim against your own insurance company. In Ray County, MO, there are four criteria that need to be met so that you can make this claim:

  1. You sustained physical injuries
  2. The injuries occurred because of an uninsured motorist, or in the case a motorist you cannot identify
  3. You are legally owed compensation from the at-fault driver
  4. All other limits of applicable policies have been exhausted by payment or settlement

In these cases, your own Ray County, MO insurance company acts as a stand in for the liable party’s insurance company in order to compensate you for your injuries. However, like many insurance companies, they may still need convincing before they pay you. To have the best opportunity to receive full compensation from an uninsured motorist claim, you need veteran and skilled Ray County, MO hit and run accident attorneys like the ones at Burger Law to fight by your side. We have been standing up to insurance companies and other bullies for over 20 years, and will not back down until your own insurance company pays you back the money you have probably been paying into their policies for a long time.

Whether the at fault driver is tracked down or not, the hit and run accident attorneys at Burger law will ensure you get the maximum amount of money that you are owed. When you sustain injuries because another driver did not respect the rules of the road, you deserve maximum compensation for all of damages you have experienced because of the accident, for instance: your medical costs, lost wages, lost earning potential, pain and suffering, mental anguish and reduced capacity to enjoy life. No matter how severe your injuries, we demand that you are compensated for all the money you are owed. If you or a someone you care about in Ray County, MO has been hurt in a hit and run accident, call Burger Law today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.

Causes of Hit and Run Accidents

It is every driver’s legal and ethical responsibility to remain at the scene of a crash. When someone drives away from the scene of a hit and run accident, it is because they are more worried about the consequences for themselves than any damage or injury their irresponsible actions caused. There are many reasons the negligent party might not want to take responsibility for their actions:

  • The driver does not have car insurance

    In Ray County, MO, not having proper insurance can cause you to have your license suspended for up to a year, paying a $400 reinstatement fee, a $500 fine and/or up to 15 days in jail. "No insurance" tickets also remain on a Ray County, MO driver’s record.

  • The driver does not have a driver’s license, or has a suspended license

    This also carries stiff penalties and can be either a Class A misdemeanor or a Class E felony, depending on whether you have been caught without a valid license before.

  • A drunk driver or a driver that was under the influence of drugs

    A DWI is a criminal charge that can also lead to fines, jail time, and having your license revoked.

  • The driver may have a warrant out for their arrest

    It might not be surprising that people who already fear an interaction with law enforcement would risk breaking the law again to flee the scene of an accident.

  • Distracted driving

    Driving while not focusing on the road is reckless and dangerous. People can become distracted if they are texting, eating, looking at directions, tired or just have their head in the clouds.

  • Lack of potential witnesses or low lighting

    A driver may leave the scene of an accident simply because they think they will not be caught. Hit and run accidents are 4.5 times more likely to occur between 12AM and 4AM, when there is low visibility and far fewer witnesses on the Ray County, MO streets or sidewalks.

  • A panicked driver

    Sometimes the driver has a clean record but simply leaves the accident because they are afraid and do not want to get in trouble. Occasionally, these drivers turn themselves in once they have calmed down.

While we cannot control how other people drive, we can take some safety measures as both drivers and pedestrians. Try to avoid walking in poorly lit areas at night, and when you are behind the wheel, stay alert at all times and never presume that leaving the scene of an accident is the best choice.

Regardless of the reason a driver chooses to flee the scene after causing a hit and run accident, they must have thought that the benefits of fleeing outweighed the cons. The Ray County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law will make them pay and make sure they see they were wrong. In our seventy years of experience as hit and run accident attorneys in Ray County, MO we have successfully litigated hit and run cases in many different situations. We demand the best possible compensation for all of our hit and run accident clients and will not let up until you receive the money you deserve to put you on the path to being made whole again. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT for a complimentary case review and so we can start working on your case right away.

The Ray County, MO lawyers of Burger Law have the experience and knowledge to help you receive the full recovery you deserve after any accident or injury caused by someone else leaves you injured. Learn more about our fields of expertise below.


Hire Our Hit And Run Accident Attorneys Today

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys| Burger Law

If you or a loved one sustained injuries in a Ray County, MO hit and run accident, you are probably feeling confused, angry, and vulnerable. Injuries and their related costs can upend your life. Burger Law is here to help you recover. When you hire our team of Ray County, MO hit and run accident attorneys, we start working on your case and fighting on your behalf straight away. We insist that the at-fault parties and their insurance companies are held accountable and we insist on getting you the best possible compensation to help you in your recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free case review to take the first step in getting your life back on track.

Request a Free Consultation


“Gary and his team provided us with effective, efficient and highly professional service. Gary provides sound advice and is a trustworthy and ethical attorney. I highly recommend the team!”

David and Fran Schneider

Hurt? Hire Us Today or call (314) 500-HURT

Other Locations

Schema