We demand justice and maximum compensation for those injured by another's negligence Car Accident Lawyer Lafayette County, MO Car Accident Lawyer in Lafayette County, MO. They broke the rules of the road, and now you are left to pick up the pieces. You should not have to pay because another driver acted thoughtlessly. Call a Burger Law Lafayette County, MO car accident lawyer now at (314) 500-HURT or complete our online form for a complimentary case review and to start on your road to being made whole again. The damage that unthinking and irresponsible drivers can cause is often staggering, and they need to be held responsible for their behavior. Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has committed their life to standing up to bullies and defending the rights of the vulnerable in Lafayette County, MO to deliver them the financial recovery they need to move forward and get their life back. If you were hurt by a negligent driver, we know you are outraged — that is merited. You are also likely apprehensive about the financial consequences of medical costs and lost wages, not to mention the physical and emotional anguish that goes along with your injuries. The law offers you an avenue to reparation; our Lafayette County, MO car accident lawyer team is here to lead you through it and fight on your behalf until there is nothing more to fight and you are fully repaid for the damage someone else's irresponsible actions caused. You do not have to wait any longer to begin on your road to recovery. We charge no fees until we win your case. In over three decades of practice, our car accident lawyer team has won over $175 million in verdicts and settlements for our Missouri clients. If you were hurt because another driver broke the rules of the road, find out the value of your injuries by filling out our complimentary personal injury calculator. Chesterfield, MOChesterfield, MO100 Chesterfield Business PkwySuites 200-222Chesterfield, MO 63005By appointment onlyPhone: (314) 648-8348View Location Car Accident Statistics in Missouri In Missouri, car accident fatalities rose by 12% between 2019 and 2020, despite the fact that there were not as many people on the road owing to the COVID-19 pandemic. A 2018 study found that Missouri ranked 12th in the nation in fatal motor vehicle collisions, with 58 percent of those deaths happening on rural roads. The Missouri State Highway Patrol reported 36,033 motor vehicle accidents that resulted in personal injury and 923 deadly motor vehicle wrecks. If you were one of the many in Lafayette County or anywhere in Missouri to be hurt on the road because of another driver's negligence, contact a car accident lawyer immediately at (314) 500-HURT. What a Car Accident Lawyer in Lafayette County, MO Can Do For You With some typical fender-benders, you might be able to be completely compensated without the assistance of a lawyer. But when you are hurt in a collision, you usually need a car accident lawyer to fight on your behalf and ensure that you get the best possible end result in your claim. When you hire a Burger Law Lafayette County, MO car accident lawyer, we will: Investigate your crash and obtain evidence, for instance: Pictures Surveillance footage Police reports Official eyewitness testimony Your medical records Ensure you receive the full medical care you need Provide you with reliable and personalized legal guidance Employ our network of Lafayette County, MO experts to help develop a legal strategy Handle all communication, documentation, litigation and negotiations Demand that you receive a fair settlement offer Take your case to trial when the insurance company will not give you a fair offer You can believe in a Burger Law car accident lawyer in Lafayette County, MO to aggressively and fervently demand justice for your damages. We have devoted our careers to helping the vulnerable in Lafayette County, MO in their recovery and in being made whole again. Our case review and primary investigation do no cost anything, so there is no reason not to talk to us. Contact a car accident lawyer now at (314) 500-HURT to discuss your case. Check out some of the following links to see the great results Burger Law's Lafayette County, MO car accident lawyer team has won for our clients: $2 million Multi-Vehicle Collision Settlement $765,000 Wrongful Death Car Accident Settlement Against Fire Department $327,000 Settlement for Rear-End Collision $250,000 Settlement for Crash After A Driver Ran a Red Light $205,000 Settlement After Failure to Stop at a Stop Sign $125,000 Settlement After Rear-End Collision at a Stop Light $100,000 Settlement for Distracted Driving $100,000 Settlement for Head-On Collision $90,000 Settlement for an Injured Passenger What to do after a Car AccidentWhat to do after a Car AccidentClick to view videoInsurance Issues in Auto ClaimsInsurance Issues in Auto ClaimsClick to view videoHow Do You Know if You Have a Car Accident Case?How Do You Know if You Have a Car Accident Case?Click to view videoCloseCloseClose Lafayette County, MO Car Accident Lawyer: Frequently Asked Questions Most of our Lafayette County, MO clients have never needed to hire a car accident lawyer before, and unsurprisingly have many questions about their rights and the legal process. The following are several of the most frequent questions we get concerning car accident claims: Who Is Liable in My Car Accident? That is contingent the specifics of your case. Some of the most common reasons our car accident lawyer team sees for claims in Lafayette County, MO are: Drunk Driving or Drug Impaired Driving Distracted Driving, such as Texting and Driving Accidents Hit and Run Accidents Intersection Accidents Speeding Accidents Multi-Car Accidents Carpoool and Rideshare Accidents Every car accident lawyer at Burger Law has seen every kind of collision imaginable, and we know how to demonstrate negligence and win every sort of motor vehicle case. How Do I Win an Auto Crash Case? In order to win your case, your car accident lawyer will have to show the five elements of negligence found in tort law: Duty of Care: Missouri Revised Statute §304.120 states that drivers are "to exercise highest degree of care." That means that any person who gets behind the wheel automatically owes you a duty of care. Breach of Duty: The driver broke a law or otherwise did not drive safely. Cause in Fact: Also referred to as "causation," you must prove that the driver's breach of duty directly caused you harm. Proximate Cause: This is what finally determines negligence and refers to the underlying origin of your injuries. A drunk driver is plainly liable, but if a vehicle's brakes do not function correctly, the proximate cause is defective components and the driver may not automatically be to blame. Damages: That your injuries caused some kind of loss, for example damage to your car, medical bills and/or lost wages. Can I Still Recover Compensation If I Was Partially to Blame? Yes. Missouri is a pure comparative fault state. What that means is that if you are found to be partially responsibility for your accident, your compensation will be reduced by the portion of culpability you are responsible for. For instance, if a jury grants you $100,000 for an accident, but establishes that you were 30 percent at fault, the final amount you recover would be $70,000. How Much is My Car Accident Claim Worth? That is contingent on the significance of your injuries, the impact they have had your life and the abilities of your car accident lawyer. With the help of your lawyer, you will be able to recover compensation for: Economic damages, such as: Lost wages Lost earning potential Medical bills, such as: Urgent care Subsequent doctors visits Surgeries Physical therapy Medication expenses In-home medical care Assistive devices such as wheelchairs or necessary upgrades to your house Future estimated medical costs, like further physical therapy or prescriptions, or replacement costs for assistive devices Transportation costs related to your medical appointments Damage to your car Noneconomic damages, which the state of Missouri defines as: Pain and suffering Mental anguish Inconvenience Physical impairment Disfigurement Loss of capacity to enjoy life Loss of consortium In rare cases in Lafayette County, MO, for example drunk driving accidents, your car accident lawyer may be able to help you recover punitive damages. How Are Noneconomic Damages Calculated? It is difficult to put a number on intangible consequences of a wreck such as loss of capacity to enjoy life. Noneconomic damages are generally quantified using one of two formulas: The Per Diem Method: "Per diem" stands for "per day" in Latin. In this method, you are given a daily amount for each day you were impacted by your injury. The daily amount is usually the same as the amount you make from a day's work, the belief being that a day of pain or emotional anguish is at least worth a day's work. This method is not implemented for permanent injuries as it is impossible to know how long your injury will impact you. The Multiplier Method: In this method, your economic damages are multiplied by a number, usually between 1.5 and 5, and the product will be your final recovery. Three is used most often, and four and five are often reserved for cases that lead to disability or permanent impairment. Your Burger Law car accident lawyer in Lafayette County, MO will make sure that an insurance company or jury understands every way that your injuries have affected you and reimburse you for all of your damages. What Tricks Do Insurance Companies Use To Avoid Paying Claims?Personal InjuryWhat Tricks Do Insurance Companies Use To Avoid Paying Claims?When you have a personal injury claim, be aware of the tricks insurance c …See Answer Is It Worth It to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident?Car AccidentsIs It Worth It to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident?Is It Worth It to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident? If you've been injured …See Answer What Do Car Accident Lawyers Do?Car AccidentsWhat Do Car Accident Lawyers Do?What Do Car Accident Lawyers Do? If you've been injured in a car accident …See Answer View More FAQs How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in Lafayette County, MO? Generally, under Missouri Revised Statute §516.120, you have five years from the date of your collision to file your personal injury claim in Lafayette County or anywhere in Missouri. If you were under 21 at the time of the crash, you have five years from the day you turn 21. That might appear a long time, but it is crucial to get in touch with a car accident lawyer right away for the best outcome in your case. What Mistakes Can Hurt My Claim? Lafayette County, MO residents who have not talked to a car accident lawyer could inadvertently do or say things that hurt their claim. Some common mistakes your car accident lawyer in Lafayette County, MO sees are: Not Calling the Police: According to Missouri Revised Statute §300.110, you have to report an accident to the police "as soon as reasonably possible" if it results in injury. Police know how to determine fault in crashes and their police report will be crucial in your case. Not Documenting the Scene: Take pictures of both vehicles and the nearby area and ask for witness contact information. This will also be incredibly valuable in your case. Not Seeking Medical Treatment: In order to be fully compensated for your injuries, you need to have them recorded and treated. Always be 100 percent truthful with your doctor about any aches you have. Believing the Insurance Company: Insurance adjusters employ a lot of deceptive tactics to compensate you with as little as possible; that is their job. Do not believe anything they say or make any recorded statements until you have talked to an attorney. Accepting the First Settlement Offer: If you need the money fast, it may be appealing to take what you can get now. It is far better when all is said and done to wait for the complete compensation you truly deserve. Not Hiring a Burger Law Car Accident Lawyer: Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has dedicated their career to seeking justice for the injured in Lafayette County, MO. When someone declines to admit culpability or the insurance company will not be fair, we step up and demand that you are treated fairly and get the complete financial recovery you deserve. DeAndre RedmondDeAndre RedmondClick to view videoRick's SettlementRick's SettlementClick to view videoTiffany TestimonialTiffany TestimonialClick to view videoCloseCloseClose How to Avoid Auto Accidents | Lafayette County, MO Car Accident Lawyer Over three quarters of people killed in traffic wrecks are drivers. Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has seen with their own eyes the havoc that a reckless driver can cause. While you cannot always control what other people do, there are various actions you can take to ensure your own safety as well as the safety of others on the Lafayette County, MO roads. Always wear a seatbelt. In 2017, seatbelts saved an estimated 14,955 lives. Over four-fifths of drivers and passengers who are completely thrown out of the vehicle perish, and most of the rest sustained serious, life-changing injuries. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration states that wearing a seatbelt decreases the risk of death by 45 percent and moderate to critical injury by 50 percent. Be aware of the laws and best driving practices. The Missouri Department of Revenue has published a Driver Guide for anyone on the Lafayette County, MO roads. Basic suggestions like driving slower and increasing following distance in winter conditions not only go a long way in keeping you and other drivers and passengers safe, but they also protect you from fault or being partially blamed for an accident if you do find yourself in one. If you drive a motorcycle, wear a helmet. While Lafayette County, MO does not have laws obligating motorcycle drivers to use helmets, they are literal life-savers. In 2017, helmets saved 1,872 lives. Put down your cell phone. While you can always text somebody later, you can never take back the consequences of a car crash. Pull over to the side of the road if you need need your phone for an emergency. If you use your phone for directions, put the volume on high and turn the radio off so you can clearly hear the directions and do not have to look. Have the right attitude. We all share the road, and we all should be respectful to other drivers, passengers and pedestrians. Understand that you are controlling thousands of pounds of metal moving at high speeds. Safety should be the first thing on your mind. According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, almost 25 percent of traffic deaths are people under the age of 25. A less cautious attitude is likely a contributing factor. Keep both hands on the wheel. Only driving with one hand can considerably diminish your control of the vehicle. Quickly changing the radio is probably OK, but both hands should be on the wheel the majority of the time. Call a taxi or ridesharing service if you have been drinking. Not only does alcohol considerably impair your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely, but it also raises your confidence and makes you feel more powerful, so you might think driving while drunk will be fine. Your brain may deceive you into thinking you can drive home safely, but it is never true. You can take every possible precaution when driving, but regrettably the negligent actions of irresponsible drivers can still hurt you. When you get hurt because another person broke the rules of the road, you deserve complete compensation for all of your damages. Every Lafayette County, MO car accident lawyer at Burger Law takes on and wins the tough cases, and knows how to get great results. Call Burger Law Now Car Accident Lawyer Lafayette County, MO You only have one chance for the best possible financial recovery. Do not let it slip. Our Lafayette County, MO car accident lawyer team fights back against bullies like resistant insurance companies and careless drivers who do not want to be held accountable for their actions. We know the economic hardships of being injured are unanticipated and severe. That is why we have committed our lives to seeing the injured and vulnerable in Lafayette County, MO recompensed and made whole again. You do not have to go through these taxing times by yourself. To protect you and your family's future, call a Burger Law car accident lawyer in Lafayette County, MO today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.