We demand justice and maximum compensation for those injured by another's negligence

Car Accident Lawyer Pike County, MO

Car Accident Lawyer in Pike County, MO. They broke the rules of the road, and now your life is turned upside down. You do not have to pay because someone else was negligent. Call a Burger Law Pike County, MO car accident lawyer now at (314) 500-HURT or complete our online form for a free consultation and to start on your road to being made whole again.

The damage that selfish and reckless drivers can cause is often staggering, and they need to be held responsible for their behavior. Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has committed their career to standing up to bullies and standing up for of the injured in Pike County, MO to deliver them the financial recovery they need to mend and return to the life they know. If you were hurt by an irresponsible driver, we know you are furious — you should to be. You are also likely anxious about the economic repercussions of medical costs and lost pay, to say nothing of the physical and emotional anguish that goes along with your injuries. The law offers you an avenue to restoration; our Pike County, MO car accident lawyer team is here to guide you across it and fight by your side until there is nothing more to fight and you are completely repaid for the damage another person's carelessness caused. You do not have to wait any longer to start the process of being made whole again. We do not charge anything until we win your case.

In over 30 years of practice, our car accident lawyer team has delivered more than $175 million in verdicts and settlements for our Missouri clients. If you were harmed because another person was reckless, see the value of your case by using our free personal injury calculator.

St. Louis

St. Louis

500 N. Broadway
Suite 1860
St. Louis, MO 63102

Phone: (314) 500-HURT

View Location


How Common Are Car Accidents in Pike County and Missouri?

In Missouri, car accident deaths increased 12% between 2019 and 2020, even though there were not as many people on the road due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A 2018 study found that Missouri ranked 12th in the nation in fatal auto wrecks, with 58 percent of those deaths occurring on rural roads. The Missouri State Highway Patrol stated 36,033 motor vehicle crashes that led to personal injury and 923 fatal auto collisions.

If you were one of the many in Pike County or anywhere in Missouri who was injured on the road because of someone else's carelessness, get in touch with a car accident lawyer today at (314) 500-HURT.

What a Car Accident Lawyer in Pike County, MO Can Do For You

With some typical fender-benders, you may be able to be fully reimbursed without the aid of a lawyer. But when you are harmed in an accident, you often require a car accident lawyer to fight by your side and make sure that you get the best results in your case. When you hire a Burger Law Pike County, MO car accident lawyer, we will:

  • Investigate your crash and attain evidence, including:
    • Photos
    • Surveillance video
    • Police reports
    • Official eyewitness depositions
    • Your medical records
  • Make certain you get the full medical treatment you need
  • Provide you with wise and individualized legal counsel
  • Employ our network of Pike County, MO experts to help develop a legal strategy
  • Handle all the legal aspects of your case so you can spend your energy on healing
  • Demand that you receive a fair settlement offer
  • Take your case in front of a judge and jury when we do not secure a fair settlement

You can count on a Burger Law car accident lawyer in Pike County, MO to forcefully and fervently demand justice for your injuries. We have dedicated our careers to helping the injured in Pike County, MO in their recovery and in being made whole again. Our case review and preliminary investigation do no cost anything, so there is no reason not to talk to us. Contact a car accident lawyer right away at (314) 500-HURT to go over your case.

Check out some of the following links to see the great results Burger Law's Pike County, MO car accident lawyer team has secured for our clients:

Pike County, MO Car Accident Lawyer: Frequently Asked Questions

Most of our Pike County, MO clients have never had to hire a car accident lawyer prior to their accident, and as expected have many questions about their rights and the legal process. The following are a few of the most common questions we are asked concerning car accident claims:

Who Is Liable in My Car Accident?

That depends the specifics of your case. Some of the most common reasons our car accident lawyer team sees for claims in Pike County, MO are:

Every car accident lawyer at Burger Law has seen it all, and we know how to prove liability and win every type of motor vehicle case.

How Do I Prove an Auto Accident Case?

In order to prove your case, your car accident lawyer will have to demonstrate the five elements of negligence found in tort law:

  1. Duty of Care: Missouri Revised Statute §304.120 states that drivers are "to exercise highest degree of care." So anybody who gets behind the wheel automatically owes you a duty of care.
  2. Breach of Duty: The driver broke a law or otherwise did not operate the vehicle safely.
  3. Cause in Fact: Also referred to as "causation," you need to prove that the driver's breach of duty directly caused your injuries.
  4. Proximate Cause: This is what finally determines negligence and refers to the underlying origin of your injuries. A drunk driver is obviously liable, but if a vehicle's brakes do not work, the proximate cause is defective parts and the driver may not automatically be to blame.
  5. Damages: That your injuries led to some kind of loss, such as damage to your car, medical expenses and/or lost wages.

Can I Still Recover Compensation If I Was Partially to Blame?

Yes. Missouri is a pure comparative fault state. That means that if you are found to be partially at fault for your crash, your compensation will be decreased by the percentage of fault you share. For instance, if a jury awards you $100,000 for a collision, but finds that you were 30 percent at fault, the final amount you receive would be $70,000.

How Much is My Car Accident Claim Worth?

That is contingent on the significance of your injuries, the impact they have had your life and the skill of your car accident lawyer. With the assistance of your attorney, you will be able to receive compensation for:

  • Economic damages, such as:
    • Lost wages
    • Lost earning capacity
    • Medical costs, for instance:
      • Urgent care
      • Follow-up doctors appointments
      • Surgeries
      • Physical therapy
      • Medication expenses
      • In-home medical care
      • Assistive devices such as wheelchairs or required upgrades to your vehicle
      • Future estimated medical expenses, like further physical rehabilitation or medication, or replacement expenses for assistive devices
    • Transportation costs related to your medical care
    • Damage to your car
  • Noneconomic damages, which the state of Missouri defines as:
    • Pain and suffering
    • Mental anguish
    • Inconvenience
    • Physical impairment
    • Disfigurement
    • Loss of capacity to enjoy life
    • Loss of consortium

In rare cases in Pike County, MO, for instance drunk driving accidents, your car accident lawyer may be able to help you collect punitive damages.

How Are Noneconomic Damages Calculated?

It is tough to put a number on intangible consequences of a collision like pain and suffering. Noneconomic damages are generally calculated through one of two methods:

  1. The Per Diem Method: "Per diem" stands for "per day" in Latin. In this method, you are given a daily amount for each day you were affected. The daily amount is often equivalent to the amount you make from a day's work, the belief being that a day of pain or emotional distress has at least the same value as a day's work. This method is not used for permanent injuries as it is impossible to know how long your injury will affect you.
  2. The Multiplier Method: In this method, your economic damages are multiplied by a number, usually between 1.5 and 5, and the product will be your complete financial recovery. Three is the most common multiplier, and four and five are often saved for cases that cause disability or permanent impairment.

Your Burger Law car accident lawyer in Pike County, MO will ensure that an insurance adjuster or jury understands the full extent that your injuries have affected you and compensate you for all of your damages.

View More FAQs

How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in Pike County, MO?

Generally, under Missouri Revised Statute §516.120, you have five years from the day your injury occurred to bring your personal injury claim in Pike County or elsewhere in Missouri. If you were under 21 at the time of the injury, you have five years from your 21st birthday. That may seem like a long time, but it is crucial to get in touch with a car accident lawyer immediately for the best outcome in your case.

What Mistakes Can Hurt My Claim?

Pike County, MO residents who have not spoken with a car accident lawyer may unintentionally do or say things that hurt their claim. Some common mistakes your car accident lawyer in Pike County, MO sees are:

  • Not Calling the Police: According to Missouri Revised Statute §300.110, you need to report an accident to the police "as soon as reasonably possible" if it causes injury. Police know how to ascertain negligence in accidents and their police report will be indispensable in your claim.
  • Not Documenting the Scene: Take photos of both vehicles and the surrounding area and obtain witness contact information. This will also be very valuable in your case.
  • Not Seeking Medical Attention: In order to be wholly compensated for your injuries, you need to have them recorded and treated. Always be entirely honest with your doctor about any pains you have.
  • Trusting the Insurance Company: Insurance companies utilize a lot of tricks to pay you as little as possible; that is how they make money. Do not trust anything they say or make any recorded statements before talking to a lawyer.
  • Taking the First Settlement Offer: If you need the money as soon as possible, it may be tempting to take what they are offering you now. It is a far better idea when all is said and done to wait for the complete compensation you truly deserve.
  • Not Hiring a Burger Law Car Accident Lawyer: Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has committed their life to pursuing justice for the injured in Pike County, MO. When someone refuses to admit blame or the insurance company is not being fair, we step in and demand that you are treated fairly and get the fair financial recovery you are owed.

How to Avoid Auto Accidents | Pike County, MO Car Accident Lawyer

Over three quarters of people killed in motor vehicle accidents are drivers. Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has seen firsthand the wreckage that a negligent driver can cause. While you cannot always control other people's actions, there are many measures you can take to ensure your own safety as well as the safety of others on the Pike County, MO roads.

  • Always wear a seatbelt. In 2017, seatbelts saved an estimated 14,955 people from death. More than 83 percent of drivers and passengers who are completely ejected from the vehicle perish, and the majority of the rest experienced serious, life-altering injuries. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says that wearing a seatbelt decreases the chances of death by 45 percent and moderate to critical injury by 50 percent.
  • Be aware of the laws and best driving practices. The Missouri Department of Revenue provides a Driver Guide for Pike County, MO drivers. Basic suggestions like driving at lower speeds and increasing following distance in poor weather not only do a lot to keep you and everyone else on the road safe, but they also protect you from liability or being partially blamed for a collision if you do find yourself in one.
  • If you are a motorcyclist, use a helmet. While Pike County, MO does not have laws forcing motorcycle drivers to wear helmets, they are literal life-savers. In 2017, helmets saved 1,872 lives.
  • Do not use your cell phone. While you can always call someone back, you can never take back the consequences of a traffic collision. Pull over safely if you need need your phone for an emergency. If you use your phone for directions, put the volume on high and do not listen to music or podcasts so you can clearly hear the directions and do not have to look.
  • Have the right attitude. We all share the road, and we all need to be polite to other drivers, passengers and pedestrians. Be aware of the fact that you are controlling several tons of metal moving at high speeds. Safety should be your prime concern. According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, almost 25 percent of motor vehicle deaths are people under the age of 25. A less cautious attitude is probably a contributing factor.
  • Keep both hands on the wheel. Only driving with one hand can substantially diminish your control of the vehicle. Quickly changing the radio is probably OK, but both hands should be on the wheel the majority of the time.
  • Call a taxi or ridesharing service if you have been drinking. Not only does alcohol significantly impair your ability to drive safely, but it also boosts your confidence and makes you feel more powerful, so you may think driving while drunk will be fine. Your brain may trick you into thinking you can drive home safely, but it is never the case.

You can take every precaution imaginable when you get behind the wheel, but unfortunately the negligent behavior of irresponsible drivers can still cause you harm. When you get hurt because someone else broke the rules of the road, you are owed full compensation for all of your damages. Every Pike County, MO car accident lawyer at Burger Law takes on and wins the tough cases, and knows how to attain great results.


Call Burger Law Now

Car Accident Lawyer Pike County, MO

You only have one chance for a full financial recovery. Do not let it go. Our Pike County, MO car accident lawyer team stands up to bullies like resistant insurance companies and thoughtless drivers who do not want to take responsibility for their actions. We know the economic consequences of being injured are unanticipated and harsh. That is why we have dedicated our lives to seeing the injured and vulnerable in Pike County, MO reimbursed and made whole again. You do not have to go through these taxing times by yourself. To protect you and your family's future, call a Burger Law car accident lawyer in Pike County, MO right away at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.

Request a Free Consultation


“Gary and his team provided us with effective, efficient and highly professional service. Gary provides sound advice and is a trustworthy and ethical attorney. I highly recommend the team!”

David and Fran Schneider

Hurt? Hire Us Today or call (314) 500-HURT

Other Locations

Schema