We demand justice and maximum compensation for those injured by another's negligence

Car Accident Lawyer Platte County, MO

Car Accident Lawyer in Platte County, MO. They broke the rules of the road, and now your life is upended. You should not have to pay because another person was negligent. Call a Burger Law Platte County, MO car accident lawyer immediately at (314) 500-HURT or complete our online form for a complimentary consultation and to start on your road to being made whole again.

The damage that unthinking and irresponsible drivers can cause is often catastrophic, and they need to be held responsible for their actions. Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has committed their life to fighting back against bullies and standing up for of the vulnerable in Platte County, MO to secure them the financial recovery they need to mend and return to the life they know. If you were injured by an irresponsible driver, we know you are outraged — you deserve to be. You are also likely concerned about the economic effects of medical expenses and lost work, as well as the physical and emotional agony that accompanies your injuries. The law extends an avenue to reparation; our Platte County, MO car accident lawyer team is here to lead you across it and fight by your side until there is nothing left to fight and you are fully compensated for the damage someone else's negligent actions caused. You do not have to wait another minute to begin on your road to recovery. We accept no fees until we win your case.

In more than 30 years of practicing law, our car accident lawyer team has won more than $175 million in verdicts and settlements for our Missouri clients. If you were harmed because someone else broke the rules of the road, see the value of your claim by filling out our free personal injury calculator.

Chesterfield, MO

Chesterfield, MO

100 Chesterfield Business Pkwy
Suites 200-222
Chesterfield, MO 63005

By appointment only

Phone: (314) 648-8348

View Location


How Common Are Car Accidents in Platte County and Missouri?

In Missouri, car accident fatalities rose by 12% between 2019 and 2020, despite there being fewer people on the road due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A 2018 study stated that Missouri ranked 12th in the nation in deadly motor vehicle crashes, with over half of those deaths occurring on country roads. The Missouri State Highway Patrol stated 36,033 motor vehicle accidents that led to personal injury and 923 fatal auto collisions.

If you were one of the many in Platte County or anywhere in Missouri to be injured on the road because of somebody else's horrible actions, call a car accident lawyer today at (314) 500-HURT.

How a Car Accident Lawyer in Platte County, MO Can Help

With some typical fender-benders, you may be able to be fairly compensated without the aid of an attorney. But when you are harmed in a collision, you generally require a car accident lawyer to fight for you and make sure that you get the best possible outcome in your claim. When you hire a Burger Law Platte County, MO car accident lawyer, we will:

  • Carry out and investigation your case and acquire evidence, including:
    • Photos
    • Surveillance video
    • Police reports
    • Official eyewitness statements
    • Your medical records
  • Make certain you receive the full medical treatment you need
  • Offer you sound and individualized legal counsel
  • Use our network of Platte County, MO experts to help build your case
  • Manage all the legal aspects of your case so you can spend your energy on healing
  • Demand that you get a fair settlement offer
  • Take your case to trial when we do not secure a fair settlement

You can believe in a Burger Law car accident lawyer in Platte County, MO to persistently and zealously demand justice in your case. We have devoted our careers to helping the injured in Platte County, MO in their recovery and in being made whole again. Our consultation and primary investigation do no cost anything, so there is no reason not to talk to us. Contact a car accident lawyer now at (314) 500-HURT to talk over your case.

Check out some of the links below to see the great results Burger Law's Platte County, MO car accident lawyer team has won for our clients:

Platte County, MO Car Accident Lawyer: Frequently Asked Questions

The bulk of our Platte County, MO clients have never needed to hire a car accident lawyer prior to their accident, and as expected have a lot of questions about their rights and the legal procedure. Below are some of the most common questions we are asked with regard to car accident claims:

Who Is Liable in My Car Accident?

That depends the specifics of your case. Some of the most common reasons our car accident lawyer team sees for claims in Platte County, MO are:

Every car accident lawyer at Burger Law has seen every kind of collision imaginable, and we know how to demonstrate liability and win every variety of motor vehicle case.

How Do I Win a Car Accident Claim?

In order to prove your case, your car accident lawyer must show the five elements of negligence found in tort law:

  1. Duty of Care: Missouri Revised Statute §304.120 dictates that motorists are "to exercise highest degree of care." That means that whoever in control of a vehicle automatically owes you a duty of care.
  2. Breach of Duty: The driver broke a law or otherwise did not operate the vehicle safely.
  3. Cause in Fact: Also known as "causation," you have to show that the driver's breach of duty directly caused you harm.
  4. Proximate Cause: This is what ultimately decides negligence and refers to the underlying origin of your injuries. A drunk driver is plainly negligent, but if a vehicle's brakes do not work, the proximate cause is defective parts and the driver may not automatically be negligent.
  5. Damages: That your injuries caused some sort of loss, such as property damage, medical costs and/or lost wages.

Can I Still Receive Compensation If I Was Partially at Fault?

Yes. Missouri is a pure comparative fault state. Meaning, that if you are found to be partially to blame for your accident, your compensation will be diminished by the percentage of blame you are responsible for. For instance, if a jury awards you $100,000 for a collision, but finds that you were 30 percent at fault, the final sum you receive would be $70,000.

How Much is My Car Accident Claim Worth?

That hinges on on the severity of your injuries, the impact they have had your life and the talent of your car accident lawyer. With the assistance of your attorney, you will be able to be awarded compensation for:

  • Economic damages, for instance:
    • Lost wages
    • Lost earning capacity
    • Medical costs, including:
      • Emergency room visits
      • Subsequent doctors visits
      • Surgeries
      • Physical rehabilitation
      • Medication expenses
      • In-home medical treatment
      • Assistive devices such as crutches or necessary improvements to your vehicle
      • Future estimated medical expenses, like further physical rehabilitation or medication, or replacement expenses for assistive devices
    • Transportation costs related to your medical care
    • Damage to your car
  • Noneconomic damages, which the state of Missouri defines as:
    • Pain and suffering
    • Mental anguish
    • Inconvenience
    • Physical impairment
    • Disfigurement
    • Loss of capacity to enjoy life
    • Loss of consortium

In rare cases in Platte County, MO, for example drunk driving collisions, your car accident lawyer may be able to help you recover punitive damages.

How Are Noneconomic Damages Calculated?

It is hard to put a number on intangible effects of an accident such as pain and suffering. Noneconomic damages are typically quantified through one of two formulas:

  1. The Per Diem Method: "Per diem" means "per day" in Latin. In this method, you are awarded a daily amount for every day you were affected. The daily amount is usually equal to your daily wage, the thought being that a day of suffering or mental distress is at least worth a day's work. This method is not used for permanent injuries as it is impossible to know how many days your injury will impact you.
  2. The Multiplier Method: In this method, your economic damages are multiplied by a number, usually between 1.5 and 5, and the product will be your final compensation. Three is used most often, and four and five are typically saved for cases that result in disability or permanent impairment.

Your Burger Law car accident lawyer in Platte County, MO will ensure that an insurance company or jury realizes the full extent that your injuries have impacted you and reimburse you for all of it.

View More FAQs

How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in Platte County, MO?

In most cases, according to Missouri Revised Statute §516.120, you have five years from the date of your accident to bring your personal injury claim in Platte County or elsewhere in Missouri. If you were under 21 at the time of the wreck, you have five years from the day you turn 21. That may seem like a long time, but it is important to reach out to a car accident lawyer right away for the best outcome in your case.

What Mistakes Can Hurt My Claim?

Platte County, MO residents who have not been in touch with a car accident lawyer might accidentally do or say things that make their claim harder to win. Some common mistakes your car accident lawyer in Platte County, MO sees are:

  • Not Calling the Police: Under Missouri Revised Statute §300.110, you need to report an accident to the police "as soon as reasonably possible" if it lead to an injury. Police know how to ascertain liability in crashes and their police report will be invaluable in your claim.
  • Not Documenting the Scene: Take pictures of both vehicles and the surrounding area and gather witness contact information. This will also be extremely helpful in your claim.
  • Not Seeking Medical Attention: In order to be completely compensated for your injuries, you need to have them recorded and treated. Always be 100 percent honest with your doctor about any pains you have.
  • Trusting the Insurance Company: Insurance adjusters utilize a lot of deceptive tactics to reimburse you for as little as they can; that is their job. Do not believe anything they say or make any recorded statements until you have talked to a lawyer.
  • Taking the First Settlement Offer: If you need the money quickly, it may be enticing to take what they are offering you now. It is a far better idea when all is said and done to wait for the full financial recovery you truly deserve.
  • Not Hiring a Burger Law Car Accident Lawyer: Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has dedicated their life to pursuing justice for the injured in Platte County, MO. When someone declines to admit culpability or the insurance company refused to be fair, we step up and insist that you are treated fairly and get the maximum financial recovery you deserve.

How to Avoid Auto Accidents | Platte County, MO Car Accident Lawyer

More than 75 percent of people killed in traffic collisions are drivers. Every Burger Law car accident lawyer has seen with their own eyes the anguish that a thoughtless driver can cause. While you cannot always control other people's behavior, there are various steps you can take to ensure your own safety in addition to the safety of others on the Platte County, MO roadways.

  • Always use a seatbelt. In 2017, seatbelts saved an estimated 14,955 lives. More than 83 percent of drivers and passengers who are entirely ejected from the vehicle perish, and the majority of the rest sustained serious, life-altering injuries. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration states that wearing a seatbelt reduces the risk of death by 45 percent and moderate to critical injury by 50 percent.
  • Be aware of the rules of the road. The Missouri Department of Revenue offers a Driver Guide for Platte County, MO drivers. Simple tips like driving at lower speeds and increasing following distance in poor weather not only go a long way in keeping you and everyone else on the road safe, but they also protect you from liability or being partially blamed for a crash if you do find yourself in one.
  • If you drive a motorcycle, wear a helmet. While Platte County, MO does not have laws obligating motorcycle drivers to use helmets, they can save your life. In 2017, helmets saved 1,872 lives.
  • Put down your cell phone. While you can always call someone back, you can never take back the effects of a motor vehicle accident. Pull over safely if you need to make an urgent call. If you use your phone for directions, put the volume on high and do not listen to music or podcasts so you can clearly hear the directions and do not have to look.
  • Have the right attitude. We all share the road, and we all need to be respectful to other drivers, passengers and pedestrians. Recognize that you are in control of thousands of pounds of metal moving at high speeds. Safety needs to be your prime concern. According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, almost one-fourth of auto deaths are people under the age of 25. Maturity is probably a contributing factor.
  • Drive with both hands on the wheel. Just having one hand on the wheel can significantly diminish your control of the car. Quickly changing the radio is likely OK, but you should mostly be driving with both hands.
  • Call a taxi or ridesharing service if you have been drinking. Not only does alcohol substantially impede your ability to drive safely, but it also boosts your confidence and makes you feel more powerful, so you could think driving while drunk will be fine. Your brain might deceive you into believing you can drive home safely, but it is never the case.

You can take every precaution imaginable when you get behind the wheel, but unfortunately the careless actions of irresponsible drivers can still harm you. When you get hurt because somebody else broke the rules of the road, you are entitled to complete compensation for all of your damages. Every Platte County, MO car accident lawyer at Burger Law takes on and wins the tough cases, and knows how to achieve great results.


Call Burger Law Now

Car Accident Lawyer Platte County, MO

You just have one chance for a complete financial recovery. Do not let it slip. Our Platte County, MO car accident lawyer team fights back against bullies like resistant insurance companies and thoughtless drivers who do not want to take responsibility for their behavior. We know the economic implications of being injured are unexpected and severe. That is why we have pledged our lives to seeing the injured and vulnerable in Platte County, MO restituted and made whole again. You do not have to go through these traumatic times alone. To protect you and your family's future, call a Burger Law car accident lawyer in Platte County, MO right away at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.

Request a Free Consultation


“Gary and his team provided us with effective, efficient and highly professional service. Gary provides sound advice and is a trustworthy and ethical attorney. I highly recommend the team!”

David and Fran Schneider

Hurt? Hire Us Today or call (314) 500-HURT

Other Locations

Schema