Getting You The Compensation You Deserve

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys Branson, MO

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys in Branson, MO. How do you hold a driver to blame and recover great compensation for your damages when you have been hurt in a hit and run accident? Call the Branson, MO hit and run accident attorneys of Burger Law straight away at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online so that we can start working for you and getting you a full recovery for your Branson, MO hit and run accident.

When a careless driver knowingly breaks the rules of the road and harms you or a loved one, it is common to feel dismayed and outraged. It is particularly unsettling when the liable party refuses to take responsibility for their behavior and drives away from the scene of the in a hit and run accident. You may be asking yourself who is going to reimburse you for the damages to your property and you or your family member's injuries. The committed, experienced and knowledgeable Branson, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law know how to hold dangerous and knowingly irresponsible driver’s accountable. We will help you understand the situation and will fight for you to maximize your compensation and put you on the path to recovery. Call us right away at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free consultation.

In the United States in 2016, 2049 people died in hit and run crashes, which is 62 percent more than 2009. Of those killed, nearly 65 percent of them were pedestrians or bicyclists, and approximately one in five pedestrian deaths transpire in hit and run accidents. A hit and run accident happens every 43 seconds in the United States. Any injury resulting from an auto crash can be traumatizing and create life-long consequence or, in the worst cases, wrongful death. However, hit and run cases compound that trauma as you may not find medical care right away, and you may not be certain who to trust or how to collect equitable compensation for your injuries and damages. Our group of veteran and knowledgeable hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law have helped individuals and families harmed in hit and run accidents in the Branson, MO area get maximum recoveries and know how to maximize your compensation. When you call us at (314) 500-HURT, we begin work on your case immediately, and you do not owe us any payment until we win your suit.

If you have been hurt in a hit and run accident, take a loot at our personal injury calculator to see how much your damages may be worth.

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys: Understanding the Laws in Branson, MO

If a driver behaves carelessly and harms you in a hit and run accident, they are not only culpable for your injuries, they are a lawbreaker. In Missouri, leaving the scene of an accident is against the law. When a driver causes or is involved in an accident, they are required by law to:

  • Stay at the scene
  • Move their car if it dangerous to other drivers, otherwise, wait until instructed by police
  • Provide aid to anyone who is hurt
  • Call the Branson, MO police
  • Use flares, reflectors, or flashlights if the accident happened at night or in poor weather
  • Exchange contact info and insurance information with anybody involved
  • Stay at the scene until a police officer tells them they can leave

Additionally, an accident report has to be filed if damages exceed $500 or the accident leads to injury or a fatality.

Missouri Statute 577.060 categorizes “leaving the scene of an accident" as a Class A Misdemeanor, which is the most serious type of misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of one year in county jail and a fine of $2,000. However, leaving the scene becomes a Class E Felony if any of these three conditions are met:

  1. Physical injury was caused by another party;
  2. Over $1,000 in damages was caused to another party’s property; or
  3. The defendant was previously found guilty of leaving the scene of a hit and run accident.

A hit and run turns into a Class D Felony if the accident becomes fatal and leads to somebody’s death. While it is comforting that we have laws deterring hit and runs, a criminal conviction for the negligent driver will not get you the money you are owed. They may be found responsible before the Branson, MO criminal court, but you need skilled and dedicated hit and run accident attorneys like the ones at Burger Law who will demand that you get the maximum recovery you need to recover. When you hire us, we start working on your case straight away and do not give up. You do not owe us a dime until we win your case and we will fight tirelessly to make certain the at-fault party bears full responsibility for their dangerous actions.

Dos and Do Nots After Being in a Hit and Run Accident

While being in any crash is frightening and can leave you feeling unprotected, it can be especially stressful if the negligent individual disregards the rules and leaves the crash site. The rules exist for a reason, and it is discouraging and alarming when someone does not respect those rules and behaves thoughtlessly and dangerously. The dedicated and talented Branson, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law hold thoughtless drivers accountable and secure you the compensation you deserve. It is important to know what to do and what not to do directly following your accident, so you can increase your odds of getting the best possible compensation:

  • DO NOT flee the crash site yourself. You may think the damages are too insignificant to want to deal with the inconvenience, or you may be nervous that you are in some measure responsible. Leaving the scene of an accident will make it much more complicated for you to receive compensation for your injuries, and, more importantly, it is against the law.
  • DO get medical attention. The health and safety of everyone present should be your chief concern. If you or somebody else is harmed, try to keep them in a stable condition and wait for Branson, MO emergency services to get there and provide aid.
  • DO NOT hesitate to call the police. Missouri law requires you to call the police in any crash that leads to over $500 worth of damages or causes bodily harm or death. Even if you do not know the scope of the damages or injuries are at that moment, having a police report will help a lot in making your case.
  • DO NOT pursue the driver. After being hit by another driver in a hit and run accident, anger and outrage are common reactions. You may be tempted to follow the driver and find out who is responsible. That is Branson, MO law enforcement’s task. Chasing after the other motorist not only puts yourself, other drivers, passengers and pedestrians at more risk, but it will hamper you from being able to get necessary information and may even make the police suspicious of you.
  • DO safely note what you can about the negligent driver and vehicle. To do this, you can:
    • Take pictures. If you are not seriously injured and can get hold of your phone before the car disappears from view, take as many photos as possible. Even if you cannot get an entire license plate number, just part of the license plate and/or the make, model and color of the car will be incredibly helpful in locating the driver. It is also useful to take pictures of any tire marks or other damage to the accident site.
    • Speak to witnesses. Other people at the scene might have been able to see more than you did, or will be able to corroborate your version of events. Be sure to get their contact information so an insurance company, law enforcement officer or Branson, MO hit and run accident attorney will be able to get in touch with them at a later date.
    • Write it all down. If you did not have time or the ability to take pictures, any knowledge you have of the other car or driver will be easier to recall immediately after the accident, and those details will still be very useful to law enforcement and your hit and run accident attorneys.
  • DO contact your Branson, MO insurance company. In the event that the driver cannot be located, you will have to make an uninsured motorist claim with your own insurance company.
  • DO call Burger Law at (314) 500-HURT at once. Our skilled and expert hit and run accident attorneys will help you gather evidence, including getting access to adjacent surveillance video and reaching out to witnesses for complete statements. We work with a network of Branson, MO car accident experts who will be able to recreate the crash and show exactly how the liable party caused your injuries.

Listed here are some helpful links and frequently asked questions for hit and runs and other types of car accidents:

Hit and Run Cases in Missouri

In the best case scenarios, police and/or your hit and run accident attorneys will be able to track down the negligent driver that caused your damages and hold them responsible for their dangerous behavior. In those cases, the indefatigable and skilled Branson, MO hit and run accident lawyers at Burger Law will make certain you recover the best possible compensation from the driver and their insurance company.

Uninsured Motorist Claims in Hit and Run Accidents

In Missouri, motorists must have uninsured motorist insurance. If you cannot locate the aliable driver after a hit and run accident, you and your hit and run accident attorneys will need to utilize this part of your policy to pursue compensation from your own insurance company. In Branson, MO, there are four standards that are required to be met so that you can make this claim:

  1. You sustained physical injuries
  2. You incurred the injuries because of an uninsured motorist, or in the case a motorist you cannot identify
  3. You are legally entitled to collect from the at-fault driver
  4. All other limits of applicable policies have been exhausted by payment or settlement

In these cases, your own Branson, MO insurance company acts as a substitute for the at-fault party’s insurance company in order to compensate you for your damages. However, like many insurance companies, they may still need convincing before they pay you. To have the best opportunity to receive the best possible compensation from an uninsured motorist claim, you need experienced and skilled Branson, MO hit and run accident attorneys like we have at Burger Law to fight by your side. We have been resisting insurance companies and other bullies for decades, and will not relent until your own insurance company pays you back the money you have likely been paying into their policies for a long time.

Whether the at fault driver is identified or not, the hit and run accident attorneys at Burger law will ensure you get the maximum amount of compensation that you are owed. When you sustain injuries because another driver disregarded the rules of the road, you deserve maximum compensation for all of damages you have experienced owing to the accident, such as: your medical bills, lost wages, lost earning potential, pain and suffering, mental anguish and loss of enjoyment of life. No matter how severe your injuries, we insist that you are compensated for all the money you are owed. If you or a loved one in Branson, MO has been hurt in a hit and run accident, call Burger Law today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.

Causes of Hit and Run Accidents

It is any driver’s legal and ethical duty to remain at an accident site. When someone flees the scene of a hit and run accident, it is because they care more about the repercussions for themselves than any damage or injury their reckless behavior caused. There are many reasons the liable party might not want to take responsibility for their actions:

  • The driver does not have car insurance

    In Branson, MO, not having appropriate insurance can cause you to have your license suspended for up to a year, paying a $400 reinstatement fee, a $500 fine and/or up to 15 days in jail. "No insurance" tickets also remain on a Branson, MO driver’s record.

  • The driver does not have a driver’s license, or has a suspended license

    This also carries severe penalties and can be either a Class A misdemeanor or a Class E felony, depending on whether you have been caught without a valid license before.

  • A drunk driver or a driver that was under the influence of drugs

    A DWI is a criminal charge that can also result in fines, jail time, and having your license revoked.

  • The driver may have a warrant out for their arrest

    It likely is not surprising that people who already fear an interaction with law enforcement would risk breaking the law again to run away from a crash site.

  • Distracted driving

    Driving while not focusing on the road is thoughtless and dangerous. People can become distracted if they are texting, eating, looking at directions, fatigued or are just thinking about something else.

  • Lack of potential witnesses or low lighting

    A driver may leave the scene of an accident simply because they think they will not be caught. Hit and run accidents are 4.5 times more frequent between 12AM and 4AM, when there is low visibility and far fewer witnesses on the Branson, MO roads or sidewalks.

  • A panicked driver

    Sometimes the driver has a clean record but simply leaves the accident because they are afraid and do not know what to do. Sometimes, these drivers turn themselves in once they have calmed down.

While we cannot control what other drivers do on the road, we can take some precautions as both drivers and pedestrians. Try to avoid walking in poorly lit areas at night, and when you are behind the wheel, never lose focus and never presume that leaving the scene of an accident is the best decision.

Regardless of the reason a driver chooses to flee the scene after causing a hit and run accident, they must have assumed the pros of fleeing outweighed the cons. The Branson, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law will hold them responsible and make certain they know they were wrong. In our seventy years of experience as hit and run accident attorneys in Branson, MO we have successfully litigated hit and run cases in many different circumstances. We demand maximum compensation for all of our hit and run accident clients and will not give up until you get the money you are owed to put you on the journey to healing. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT for a complimentary case review and so we can begin working on your case right away.

The Branson, MO lawyers of Burger Law have the experience and knowledge to help you receive the full recovery you deserve after any accident or injury caused by someone else leaves you injured. Learn more about our fields of expertise below.

Hire Our Hit And Run Accident Attorneys Today

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys| Burger Law

If you or a loved one sustained injuries in a Branson, MO hit and run accident, you are probably feeling confused, livid, and overwhelmed. Injuries and their related costs can disrupt your life. Burger Law is here to help you recover. When you hire our team of Branson, MO hit and run accident attorneys, we start working on your case and fighting for you right away. We demand the negligent parties and their insurance companies are held accountable and we insist on getting you maximum compensation to aid you in your recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free case evaluation to take the first step in getting your life back on track.

Request a Free Consultation

“Gary and his team provided us with effective, efficient and highly professional service. Gary provides sound advice and is a trustworthy and ethical attorney. I highly recommend the team!”

David and Fran Schneider

Hurt? Hire Us Today or call (314) 500-HURT

Other Locations