Getting You The Compensation You Deserve Hit and Run Accident Attorneys Nevada, MO Hit and Run Accident Attorneys in Nevada, MO. How do you hold a driver to blame and recover full compensation for your damages when you have been injured in a hit and run accident? Call the Nevada, MO hit and run accident attorneys of Burger Law today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online so that we can begin working for you and winning you the best possible recovery for your Nevada, MO hit and run accident. When a thoughtless driver willfully breaks the rules of the road and injured you or someone you care about, it is normal to feel dismayed and furious. It is especially unnerving when the at-fault party refuses to take responsibility for their behavior and runs away from the scene of the in a hit and run accident. You may be asking yourself who is going to pay for the damages to your property and you or your loved one’s injuries. The dedicated, veteran and talented Nevada, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law know how to hold careless and purposefully irresponsible driver’s accountable. We will help you make sense of the situation and will fight by your side to maximize your recovery and get you on the road to recovery. Call us now at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free consultation. In the United States in 2016, 2049 people died in hit and run crashes, which was a 62 percent increase from 2009. Of the fatalities, just about 65 percent of them were pedestrians or bicyclists, and approximately one in five pedestrian deaths occur in hit and run accidents. A hit and run accident takes place every 43 seconds in the United States. Any injury resulting from an auto accident can be traumatizing and produce life-long changes or, in the worst cases, wrongful death. However, hit and run cases amplify your wounds as you may not get medical care at once, and you may not know who to trust or how to collect just compensation for your injuries and damages. Our group of experienced and talented hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law have helped people injured in hit and run accidents in the Nevada, MO area get maximum recoveries and understand how to maximize your compensation. When you reach out to us at (314) 500-HURT, we begin working on your case immediately, and we do not charge any fees until we win your claim. If you have been harmed in a hit and run accident, check out our personal injury calculator to see how much you may be able to recover in compensation. What Should I Do After a Hit and Run AccidentWhat Should I Do After a Hit and Run AccidentClick to view videoCan You Sue If You Were Involved In A Hit and Run Accident?Can You Sue If You Were Involved In A Hit and Run Accident?Click to view videoCloseClose Hit and Run Accident Attorneys: Understanding the Laws in Nevada, MO If a motorist drives carelessly and injures you in a hit and run accident, they are not only liable for your injuries, they are a lawbreaker. In Missouri, leaving the scene of an accident is a crime. When a driver causes or is involved in an accident, they are required by law to: Remain at the crash site Move their car if it dangerous to other drivers, otherwise, wait until instructed by police Supply aid to anyone who is hurt Call the Nevada, MO police Use flares, reflectors, or flashlights if the accident happened at night or in inclement weather Exchange contact info and insurance information with anybody involved Stay at the accident site until a police officer tells them they can leave Furthermore, an accident report needs to be filed if damages exceed $500 or the accident leads to injury or death. Missouri Statute 577.060 categorizes “leaving the scene of an accident" as a Class A Misdemeanor, which is the most serious type of misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of one year in county jail and a fine of $2,000. However, leaving the scene becomes a Class E Felony if any of the three conditions listed are met: Physical injury was caused by another party; Over $1,000 in damages was caused to another party’s property; or The defendant has previously left the scene of a hit and run accident. A hit and run becomes a Class D Felony if the crash becomes fatal and results in somebody’s death. While it is encouraging that we have laws deterring hit and runs, a criminal conviction for the at-fault driver will not get you the money you are entitled to. They may be found guilty before the Nevada, MO criminal court, but you need accomplished and dedicated hit and run accident attorneys like the ones at Burger Law who will insist that you get the maximum recovery you need to heal. When you hire us, we get started on your case at once and do not let up. You do not owe us a dime until we win your case and we will represent you aggressively to make certain the negligent party bears complete responsibility for their careless actions. Dos and Do Nots After Being in a Hit and Run Accident While being in any accident is frightening and can leave you feeling vulnerable, it can be especially stressful if the responsible person disregards the rules of the road and leaves the scene. The rules exist for a reason, and it is disheartening and frightening when someone disregards those rules and behaves selfishly and recklessly. The committed and accomplished Nevada, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law hold selfish drivers responsible and secure you the money you are entitled to. It is important to know what to do and what not to do directly following your accident, so you can increase your odds of getting the best possible compensation: DO NOT leave the scene yourself. You may think the damages are too insignificant to want to deal with the nuisance, or you may be anxious that you are in some measure responsible. Leaving the location of a crash will make it much more difficult for you to recover compensation for your injuries, and, more importantly, it is against the law. DO get medical attention. The health and safety of everyone involved should be your principal worry. If you or somebody else is hurt, do your best to keep them in a stable condition and wait for Nevada, MO emergency services to arrive and provide aid. DO NOT wait to call the police. Missouri law says that you have to call the police in any accident that results in over $500 worth of damages or results in bodily injury or death. Even if you are not certain what the scope of the damages or injuries are immediately, having a police report will go a long way in proving your case. DO NOT follow the driver. After being hit by another vehicle in a hit and run accident, anger and outrage are normal reactions. You may be tempted to follow the driver and find out who is responsible. That is Nevada, MO law enforcement’s job. Going on a wild goose chase not only puts yourself, other drivers, passengers and pedestrians at heightened risk, but it will hamper you from being able to get valuable information and may even make the police suspicious of you. DO safely find out what you can about the negligent driver and vehicle. To do this, you can: Take photos. If you did not sustain a serious injury and can get hold of your phone before the car is completely gone, take as many photographs as you are able to. Even if you cannot get an entire license plate number, a partial number and/or the make, model and color of the car will be incredibly helpful in locating the driver. It is also useful to take pictures of any tire marks or other damage at the scene of the accident. Talk to witnesses. Other people at the scene may have had a better view than you, or will be able to corroborate your version of events. Make sure to get their contact information so a claims adjuster, law enforcement officer or Nevada, MO hit and run accident attorney will be able to reach out to them later. Write down everything you can. If you did not have time or the ability to take photos, anything you could observe about the other car or driver will be easier to remember immediately after the accident, and those details will still be incredibly helpful to law enforcement and your hit and run accident attorneys. DO contact your Nevada, MO insurance company. In the event that the driver cannot be located, you will need to make an uninsured motorist claim with your own insurance company. DO call Burger Law at (314) 500-HURT right away. Our savvy and expert hit and run accident attorneys will assist in collecting evidence, including obtaining close by surveillance footage and reaching out to witnesses for complete statements. We work alongside a network of Nevada, MO car accident experts who will be able to reconstruct the accident and prove exactly how the negligible party caused your injuries. Here are some helpful links and frequently asked questions for hit and runs and other categories of car accidents: What to Do if You Are Hit by an Uninsured Driver What Do I Do if I Was Hit by a Drunk Driver and They Drove Off? Hit and Run Accidents - How to Solve Them Who Can I Sue in a Multi-Car Accident Do I Need a Car Accident Lawyer? Do Pedestrians Always Have the Right of Way? What Should I Do After a Hit and Run Car Accident Leading Causes of Car Accidents What Is Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage? How Is Fault Determined in a Car Accident? Bad Faith Failure to Settle What Do I Do if I've Been Hit in a Crosswalk? Hit and Run Cases in Missouri The ideal scenario is that police and/or your hit and run accident attorneys will be able to track down the at-fault driver that caused your damages and hold them accountable for their careless driving. In those cases, the indefatigable and expert Nevada, MO hit and run accident lawyers at Burger Law will make sure you collect the best possible compensation from the driver and their insurance company. Uninsured Motorist Claims in Hit and Run Accidents In Missouri, drivers are required to have uninsured motorist insurance. If you are unable to find the aliable driver after a hit and run accident, you and your hit and run accident attorneys will need to utilize this part of your policy to make a claim against your own insurance company. In Nevada, MO, there are four standards that need to be met in order for you to make this claim: You received bodily injuries The injuries occurred as a result of an uninsured motorist, or in the case a motorist you cannot identify You are legally owed compensation from the at-fault driver All other limits of applicable policies have been exhausted by payment or settlement In these cases, your own Nevada, MO insurance company takes the place of the negligent party’s insurance company in order to compensate you for your injuries. However, like any insurance companies, they may still need convincing before they pay you. To have the best chance at receiving maximum compensation from an uninsured motorist claim, you need veteran and knowledgeable Nevada, MO hit and run accident attorneys like the ones at Burger Law to fight by your side. We have been pushing back against insurance companies and other bullies for decades, and will not give in until your own insurance company reimburses you for the money you have likely been paying into their policies for a long time. Whether the at fault driver is found or not, the hit and run accident attorneys at Burger law will make certain you get the maximum amount of money that you are entitled to. When you are harmed because another driver broke the rules of the road, you deserve the best possible recovery for all of damages you have experienced because of the accident, including: your medical bills, lost wages, lost earning potential, pain and suffering, mental anguish and reduced ability to enjoy life. No matter how grave your injuries, we insist that you are compensated for all the money you are entitled to. If you or a loved one in Nevada, MO has been injured in a hit and run accident, call Burger Law today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online. Causes of Hit and Run Accidents It is every driver’s legal and ethical responsibility to stay at a crash site. When someone flees the scene of a hit and run accident, it is because they care more about the repercussions for themselves than any damage or injury their reckless behavior caused. There are a wide array reasons the negligent party might not want to take responsibility for their actions: The driver does not have car insurance In Nevada, MO, not having the right insurance can lead to having your license suspended for up to a year, paying a $400 reinstatement fee, a $500 fine and/or up to 15 days in jail. "No insurance" tickets also remain on a Nevada, MO driver’s record. The driver does not have a driver’s license, or has a suspended license This also carries severe penalties and can be either a Class A misdemeanor or a Class E felony, based on whether you have been discovered without a valid license before. A drunk driver or a driver otherwise impaired by drugs A DWI is a criminal charge that can also lead to fines, jail time, and getting your license revoked. The driver may have a warrant out for their arrest It might not be surprising that people who have already committed a crime would risk breaking the law again to leave the scene of an accident. Distracted driving Driving while not paying full attention to the road is reckless and dangerous. People can become distracted if they are texting, eating, looking at directions, fatigued or are just thinking about something else. Lack of potential witnesses or low lighting A driver may flee a crash site simply because they think they can do so without any repercussions. Hit and run accidents are 4.5 times more likely to occur between 12AM and 4AM, when there is low visibility and far fewer witnesses on the Nevada, MO streets or sidewalks. A panicked driver Sometimes the driver has a clean record but simply leaves the accident because they are afraid and do not want to get in trouble. Sometimes, these drivers turn themselves in after they have calmed down. While we cannot control what other drivers do behind the wheel, we can take some precautions as both drivers and pedestrians. Try to avoid walking in poorly lit areas at night, and when you are driving, stay alert at all times and never take for granted that leaving the scene of an accident is the best option. No matter the reason a driver decides to leave the scene after causing a hit and run accident, they must have presupposed the pros of running were greater than the cons. The Nevada, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law will make them pay and make sure they know they were wrong. In our seventy years of experience as hit and run accident attorneys in Nevada, MO we have successfully litigated hit and run cases in many different scenarios. We demand the best possible compensation for all of our hit and run accident clients and will not let up until you receive the money you deserve to put you on the road to being made whole again. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT for a free consultation and so we can begin working on your case right away. The Nevada, MO lawyers of Burger Law have the experience and knowledge to help you receive the full recovery you deserve after any accident or injury caused by someone else leaves you injured. Learn more about our fields of expertise below. Personal Injury Attorney MissouriPersonal Injury Lawyer Near Me MissouriDefective Products Lawyer MissouriCar Accident Lawyer Missouri Hire Our Hit And Run Accident Attorneys Today Hit and Run Accident Attorneys| Burger Law If you or someone you care about sustained injuries in a Nevada, MO hit and run accident, you are probably feeling confused, livid, and vulnerable. Injuries and their related bills can disrupt your life. Burger Law is here to help make you whole again. When you hire our team of Nevada, MO hit and run accident attorneys, we start working on your case and fighting by your side right away. We insist that the responsible parties and their insurance companies are held accountable and we demand that you get great compensation to aid you in your recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a complimentary case review to take the first step in getting your life back on track.