Getting You The Compensation You Deserve

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys Osage County, MO

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys in Osage County, MO. How do you hold a driver to blame and collect great compensation for your damages when you have been harmed in a hit and run crash? Call the Osage County, MO hit and run accident attorneys of Burger Law now at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online so that we can begin working for you and getting you a full recovery for your Osage County, MO hit and run accident.

When a careless driver consciously breaks the rules of the road and injured you or a family member, it is typical to feel dismayed and outraged. It is particularly upsetting when the reckless party will not take responsibility for their behavior and leaves the scene of the in a hit and run accident. You may be pondering who is going to reimburse you for the damages to your property and you or your loved one’s injuries. The committed, veteran and knowledgeable Osage County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law know how to hold thoughtless and knowingly irresponsible driver’s accountable. We will help you comprehend the situation and will fight for you to maximize your recovery and put you on the journey to recovery. Call us right away at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a free case evaluation.

In the United States in 2016, 2049 people died in hit and run accidents, which was a 62 percent increase from 2009. Of those who died, about 65 percent of them were pedestrians or bicyclists, and approximately one in five pedestrian deaths transpire in hit and run accidents. A hit and run accident transpires every 43 seconds in the United States. Any injury stemming from an auto accident can be traumatizing and produce life-long consequence or, in the worst cases, wrongful death. However, hit and run cases amplify that trauma as you may not find medical treatment immediately, and you may be unsure of who to trust or how to collect just compensation for your injuries and damages. Our group of accomplished and knowledgeable hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law have helped those harmed in hit and run accidents in the Osage County, MO area get maximum recoveries and understand how to maximize your compensation. When you reach out to us at (314) 500-HURT, we start work on your case straight away, and we do not charge any payment until we win your claim.

If you have been injured in a hit and run accident, check out our personal injury calculator to see how much your damages may be worth.


Hit and Run Accident Attorneys: Understanding the Laws in Osage County, MO

If a driver behaves negligently and hurts you in a hit and run accident, they are not only responsible for your injuries, they are guilty of breaking the law. In Missouri, driving away from the scene of an accident is against the law. When a motorist causes or is involved in an accident, they are required by law to:

  • Remain at the scene
  • Move their car if it may cause other drivers to crash, otherwise, wait for instructions from police
  • Render aid to anyone who is hurt
  • Call the Osage County, MO police
  • Use flares, reflectors, or flashlights if the accident happened at night or in inclement weather
  • Swap contact info and insurance information with others involved
  • Stay at the scene until a police officer tells them differently

Furthermore, an accident report needs to be filed if damages exceed $500 or the accident causes injury or death.

Missouri Statute 577.060 classifies “leaving the scene of an accident" as a Class A Misdemeanor, which is the most serious misdemeanor offense and carries a maximum penalty of one year in a local jail and a fine of $2,000. However, leaving the scene becomes a Class E Felony if any of the following three conditions are met:

  1. Physical injury was caused by another party;
  2. Over $1,000 in damages was caused to another party’s property; or
  3. The defendant was previously found guilty of leaving the scene of a hit and run accident.

A hit and run becomes a Class D Felony if the accident becomes fatal and causes somebody’s death. While it is reassuring that we have laws deterring hit and runs, a criminal conviction for the reckless driver will not get you the money you are entitled to. They may be found guilty in front of the Osage County, MO criminal court, but you need skilled and dedicated hit and run accident attorneys like we have at Burger Law who will fight for you until you get the best possible recovery you need to make you whole again. When you hire us, we get started on your case straight away and work tenaciously until we win. We do not charge any fees until we win your case and we will represent you aggressively to make sure the negligent party bears complete responsibility for their harmful actions.


Dos and Do Nots After Being in a Hit and Run Accident

While being in any accident is scary and can leave you feeling vulnerable, it can be especially nerve wracking if the negligent party does not respect the law and leaves the crash site. The rules were enacted for a reason, and it is disheartening and frightening when someone does not respect those rules and behaves carelessly and irresponsibly. The devoted and knowledgeable Osage County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law hold selfish drivers accountable and get you the compensation you are entitled to. It is important to know what to do and what not to do directly following your accident, so you can increase your odds of getting the best possible compensation:

  • DO NOT leave the scene yourself. You may think the damages are too small to want to deal with the hassle, or you may be nervous that you are partially responsible. Leaving the scene of a crash will make it much more difficult for you to get compensation for your damages, and, more importantly, it is against the law.
  • DO get medical attention. The health and safety of everybody present should be your foremost thought. If you or somebody else is harmed, focus on keeping them in a stable condition and wait for Osage County, MO emergency services to get there and give aid.
  • DO NOT wait to call the police. Missouri law dictates that you have to call the police in any accident that results in over $500 worth of damages or leads to physical harm or a fatality. Even if you do not know the degree of the damages or injuries are immediately, having a police report will help a lot in making your case.
  • DO NOT pursue the driver. When you are hit by another auto in a hit and run accident, anger and outrage are normal reactions. You may be motivated to follow the driver and find out who they are. That is Osage County, MO law enforcement’s obligation. Chasing after the other driver not only puts yourself, other drivers, passengers and pedestrians at further risk, but it will hamper you from being able to get valuable information and may even cause the police to suspect you.
  • DO safely learn what you can about the irresponsible driver and vehicle. To do this, you can:
    • Take pictures. If you are not badly injured and can take out your phone before the car disappears from view, take as many pictures as possible. Even if you cannot get complete license plate number, a partial number and/or the make, model and color of the car will be a great help in finding the driver. It also helps to take photos of any tire marks or other damage to the crash site.
    • Talk to witnesses. Other people at the crash site might have had a better view than you, or will be able to validate your story. Make sure to get their contact information so an insurance company, police officer or Osage County, MO hit and run accident attorney will be able to contact them later.
    • Write it all down. If you did not have time or the ability to take pictures, any knowledge you have of the other car or driver will be easier to remember immediately after the collision, and those details will still be incredibly helpful to law enforcement and your hit and run accident attorneys.
  • DO contact your Osage County, MO insurance company. In the event that the driver cannot be located, you will need to make an uninsured motorist claim with your own insurance company.
  • DO call Burger Law at (314) 500-HURT right away. Our savvy and knowledgeable hit and run accident attorneys will assist in collecting evidence, including obtaining adjacent surveillance footage and contacting witnesses for complete statements. We work alongside a network of Osage County, MO car accident experts who will be able to reconstruct the accident and demonstrate exactly how the liable party caused your injuries.

Listed here are some helpful links and frequently asked questions for hit and runs and other kinds of car accidents:

Hit and Run Cases in Missouri

The ideal scenario is that police and/or your hit and run accident attorneys will be able to track down the at-fault driver that caused your injuries and hold them accountable for their dangerous driving. In those cases, the determined and talented Osage County, MO hit and run accident lawyers at Burger Law will make sure you receive the best possible compensation from the driver and their insurance company.

Uninsured Motorist Claims in Hit and Run Accidents

In Missouri, drivers are required to have uninsured motorist insurance. If you are unable to track down the anegligent driver after a hit and run accident, you and your hit and run accident attorneys will need to use this part of your policy to make a claim against your own insurance company. In Osage County, MO, there are four standards that are required to be met so that you can make this claim:

  1. You received physical injuries
  2. You sustained the injuries as a result of an uninsured motorist, or in the case a motorist you are unable to identify
  3. You are legally entitled to collect from the at-fault driver
  4. All other limits of applicable policies have been exhausted by payment or settlement

In these cases, your own Osage County, MO insurance company acts as a stand in for the liable party’s insurance company in order to compensate you for your injuries. However, like many insurance companies, they may still need convincing before they pay you. To have the best opportunity to receive great compensation from an uninsured motorist claim, you need experienced and skilled Osage County, MO hit and run accident attorneys like the ones at Burger Law to fight on your behalf. We have been standing up to insurance companies and other bullies for decades, and will not give in until your own insurance company reimburses you for the money you have certainly been paying into their policies for years.

Whether the at fault driver is identified or not, the hit and run accident attorneys at Burger law will make sure you get the maximum amount of money that you are owed. When you sustain injuries because somebody else did not respect the rules of the road, you are entitled to a full recovery for all of damages you have sustained owing to the accident, such as: your medical costs, lost wages, lost earning potential, pain and suffering, mental anguish and loss of enjoyment of life. No matter how serious your injuries, we demand that you are compensated for all the money you are entitled to. If you or a family member in Osage County, MO has been injured in a hit and run accident, call Burger Law today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online.

Causes of Hit and Run Accidents

It is any driver’s legal and moral duty to stay at a crash site. When someone drives away from the scene of a hit and run accident, it is because they are more concerned about the consequences for themselves than any damage or injury their dangerous behavior caused. There are many reasons the at-fault party might not want to take responsibility for their actions:

  • The driver does not have car insurance

    In Osage County, MO, not having the appropriate insurance can result in you having your license suspended for up to a year, paying a $400 reinstatement fee, a $500 fine and/or up to 15 days in jail. "No insurance" tickets also remain on a Osage County, MO driver’s record.

  • The driver does not have a driver’s license, or has a suspended license

    This also carries crushing penalties and can be either a Class A misdemeanor or a Class E felony, based on whether you have been discovered without a valid license before.

  • A drunk driver or a driver otherwise impaired by drugs

    A DWI is a criminal charge that can also lead to fines, jail time, and getting your license revoked.

  • The driver may have a warrant out for their arrest

    It might not be surprising that people who have already committed a crime would risk breaking the law again to flee the scene of an accident.

  • Distracted driving

    Driving while not giving full attention to the road is careless and dangerous. People can become distracted if they are texting, eating, looking at directions, tired or just have their head in the clouds.

  • Lack of potential witnesses or low lighting

    A driver may flee an accident site simply because they think they will not be caught. Hit and run accidents are 4.5 times more frequent between midnight and 4AM, when there is low visibility and far fewer witnesses on the Osage County, MO streets or sidewalks.

  • A panicked driver

    Sometimes the driver has a clean record but simply leaves the accident because they are afraid and do not know what to do. often, these drivers turn themselves in once they have calmed down.

While we cannot control what other drivers do on the road, we can take some precautions as both drivers and pedestrians. Try to avoid walking in poorly lit areas at night, and when you are behind the wheel, stay alert at all times and never take for granted that leaving the scene of an accident is the best decision.

No matter the reason a driver opts to leave the scene after causing a hit and run accident, they must have assumed the pros of fleeing were greater than the cons. The Osage County, MO hit and run accident attorneys at Burger Law will hold them responsible and make certain they understand they were wrong. In our seventy years of experience as hit and run accident attorneys in Osage County, MO we have successfully litigated hit and run cases in many different situations. We demand the best possible compensation for all of our hit and run accident clients and will not let up until you get the money you deserve to put you on the road to recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT for a complimentary case review and so we can begin working on your case right away.

The Osage County, MO lawyers of Burger Law have the experience and knowledge to help you receive the full recovery you deserve after any accident or injury caused by someone else leaves you injured. Learn more about our fields of expertise below.


Hire Our Hit And Run Accident Attorneys Today

Hit and Run Accident Attorneys| Burger Law

If you or a family member sustained injuries in a Osage County, MO hit and run accident, you are probably feeling confused, outraged, and overwhelmed. Injuries and their related bills can disrupt your life. Burger Law is here to help make you whole again. When you hire our team of Osage County, MO hit and run accident attorneys, we start working on your case and fighting on your behalf straight away. We demand the at-fault parties and their insurance companies are held accountable and we insist on getting you full compensation to help you in your recovery. Call us today at (314) 500-HURT or contact us online for a complimentary case review to take the first step in getting your life back on track.

Request a Free Consultation


“Gary and his team provided us with effective, efficient and highly professional service. Gary provides sound advice and is a trustworthy and ethical attorney. I highly recommend the team!”

David and Fran Schneider

Hurt? Hire Us Today or call (314) 500-HURT

Other Locations

Schema